Putting a H.A.L.T. to Grief

It’s been eighteen months since my life mate — my soul mate — died of inoperable kidney cancer, and I’m still chugging along. I do okay most days, but still there are times when the thought that he is gone takes away my breath. His death was so final, his absence absolute. He never responds when I talk to him, never sits down to watch a movie with me, never seems to care when I get angry at him for rejecting me. (I know it’s not his fault, but still, death is the ultimate rejection.)

During this past year and a half, I’ve learned a lot about grief. I learned the importance of facing the pain head-on, accepting it as part of the process, and waiting for it to diminish, which mine has — significantly. I’ve learned how to find peace in the sorrow (or perhaps despite the sorrow). I’ve learned that grief cannot be hurried, that months or even years might pass before we bereft find ourselves again. And most of all, I’ve learned the secret of H.A.L.T.

People who make major life changes, such as alcoholics who give up drinking, smokers who give up cigarettes, diabetics who make diet and exercise changes are often urged to watch themselves so they don’t get Hungry, Angry, Lonely, or Tired. That’s what I mean by H.A.L.T. Did you think I actually meant putting an end to grief? You should know by now I’m letting grief wear itself out, whenever or however that might be.

Hunger, anger, loneliness, and exhaustion make us vulnerable, which makes it easy to backslide into old behavior patterns.  I recently noticed that grief often surges when I am tired, so I’ve been trying to steer clear of these vulnerabilites, but the trouble is that all of those states are effects of grief, so exhaustion and loneliness and anger causes grief and grief causes exhaustion, loneliness and anger. A sad cycle. But now that I’m aware of it, I can try to be more careful. Although I’m willing to let grief take its course, I have no intention of letting grief rule the rest of my life. I intend to be as bold and as adventurous as possible, a wildly inappropriate woman who just likes to have fun. But not quite yet. I still have some sadnesses to deal with.

***

Pat Bertram is the author of Grief: The Inside Story – A Guide to Surviving the Loss of a Loved One. “Grief: The Inside Story is perfect and that is not hyperbole! It is exactly what folk who are grieving need to read.” –Leesa Healy, RN, GDAS GDAT, Emotional/Mental Health Therapist & Educator.

7 Responses to “Putting a H.A.L.T. to Grief”

  1. leesis Says:

    what a great post Pat. So spot on. When we are suffering great trauma such as grief it is so essential that we pay particular attention to our self care; our diet, exercise, rest, self nuturing; ie taking particular care to doing those things that give us the most peace/rest/pleasure, our connections and so on. Your willingness to face grief head on combined with your openness to this eventually changing is the absolute epitome of good mental health in my view. Can’t wait to see the wildly inappropriate woman…thinking the shooter is a start 🙂

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      Thank you, Leesa. I’m going to use part of this post for the afterward of my grief book. You’re probably right that I need to leave readers with a bit of the rebuilding process so as to leave them with hope, so this will at least show what I am doing during this second year.

  2. http://cluculzwriter.blogspot.com Says:

    Another moving post, Pat. I took your lead and I’m posting about my grief in a series of posts about my road to publication. I mentioned you in one titled Accepting the Journey. I should have asked first, but your name just came out. Hope that’s okay?

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      Joylene, I am delighted that you used my name, and even more delighted that you’re talking about your grief. I hope it brings you a small measure of peace. You deserve it.

  3. Terry Says:

    I know that my soul mate is as i believe in life as i know she would be in death. My grieving would be terminal, my soul crushed beyond redemption. Would then she feel the same? Would i wish this on her? Never. Grieving starts not at the moment of death, but at the moment of realization.

    • Heather Says:

      Hi Pat. Yet again another post that I am finding so helpful.Like you did I’ve been facing the pain of grief as it seemed the only way not to get stuck in it and not let it control me. I haven’t been able to journal myself to express how I feel but I have found your posts so similar to my experience. As I have been approaching the end of my second year of grief I have been begining to want to start doing more interesting things in my life.
      I’m sure bold and adventurous is waiting out there for me but it’s taking the first step. I have been doing the self care but the thing I find so hard is the loneliness. I have family quite near and friends but it’s always coming back to the empty house. Missing my life mate of 48 years who knew me so well I could just relax and do nothing with, who loved me and wanted to be with me even when I was having a tough time or in a bad mood is so hard.

      • Pat Bertram Says:

        That loneliness is a killer. Being rather an introvert, I’ve managed to make accommodations with being alone, though the loneliness does rear up occasionally. And yes, that first step is hard. All through those first years of grief, I did things in an effort to build new memories, but it wasn’t until the third year that anything rippled through my life beyond the moment. Grief is hard, but facing it head on and dealing with it as long as necessary is truly the best way to go. In my case, I didn’t want the stress of grief to be pulling me down the rest of my years, and though I still miss him, it’s nowhere near as stressful and as lonely as it was in the first years. Take care of yourself. This is a hard time, when you’re still grieving and everyone else thinks you should “get over it”.


Please leave a comment. I'd love to hear what you have to say.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.