The Blooming Desert

The desert is blooming, and so, I hope, am I. Each day I do a bit more, stretching my poor deformed limb, trying to get back into my life, whatever that might be.

No — not my poor deformed limb. My exquisite limb. As Sheila Deeth, friend and fan extraordinaire, suggested, paraphrasing the blurb at the bottom of my posts, “’an exquisite wrist, wrenching to move, and at the same time full of profound promise’ perhaps?” I like her phrasing so much better than the way I describe my wrist! And I’m sure the wrist would appreciate the new appellation because it is trying so hard to move! It’s not the limb’s fault it doesn’t look the same as it used to. (Though who am I to judge? I don’t look the same, either!)

Today I used both Pacerpoles (I’d been using the right-handed trekking pole as a cane), thinking the left pole would give my wrist a workout, and sure enough, it did, though I had to carry the pole part of the way. Still, any usage of the wrist, no matter how painful, is a step in the right direction.

And, even better, both my exquisite wrist and my exquisite self were rewarded with these exquisite images of the blooming desert:

***

Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.” Connect with Pat on Google+. Like Pat on Facebook.

11 Responses to “The Blooming Desert”

  1. Wanda Says:

    Love the images and the imagery. You’re set to bloom all over again, dear friend.

  2. Charlotte M. Liebel Says:

    Such beautiful photos, Pat. Lovely flowers. Artistically balanced scenes. Best day-out!

    Charlotte M Liebel @Sharliebel

  3. rami ungar the writer Says:

    Proof that even the desert has its beauties.

  4. Coco Ihle Says:

    There’s color everywhere!!! In and out of your heart! Yeaaaay!!!

  5. Sherrie Hansen Says:

    Lovely photos from a lovely woman.

  6. Constance Says:

    As the days go by, with exercise the pain will be less and the wrist will become more flexible and better. In the meantime, enjoy the desert beauty. Enjoyed looking at your Desert Photos.

  7. Carol Says:

    Your desert beauties remind me a bit of my hellebores, blooming cups of mottled rose-pink … although mine are rising from among smashed green leaves. Still beautiful despite a few flaws.

    I’ve been catching up on your blog posts, checking to see that you’re continuing to heal from your fall and its nasty consequences. Winter has been long and tedious here, although for different reasons. So much snow, resulting in downed trees and power lines, broken shrubs and slippery streets. I had one fall and it was down hard onto both my arthritic knees … they were swollen and painful for a few weeks afterwards, but I’m thankful that I didn’t actually break anything. I read of your injuries and am inspired by your stamina and perseverance.

    Spring here is late arriving this year, but blossoms are finally beginning to show up, and they bring a rush of appreciation for the renewal that comes with a fresh season. I’m glad you’re able to drive again, and to begin walking, at least a bit, into your beautiful desert. I’m sure those moments help to bolster your spirit. My thoughts are with you through your continued recovery.

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      Carol, so good to hear from you! I don’t want to stay in here permanently — I’ve always planned to live out my final years in Colorado — but thought of winter has me spooked. So glad you didn’t damage your knees. Falls are such dangerous things. I’ve often fallen, but not like this — I’m so glad you were spared. Thank you for thinking of me. Recovery is slow. I didn’t believe the doctor when he said two years, but now I do. I hope your spring is a good one.

  8. LordBeariOfBow Says:

    I once lived in/on the Great Sandy Desert in Western Australia, and we never ever had anything as beautiful as this growing.


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

