Once Upon a Time Under the Sonoran Stars

A little more than a year ago, I stopped at Organ Pipe Cactus National Monument on my way across the country. It was a fantastic experience, like living in a southwestern botanical garden. It seemed such a magical spot that I stayed a day longer than I’d planned.

One of the special moments of my stay at the park was hiking with a couple of fellow campers. After we returned to our tents and rested a bit, one of the hikers, a guy who was exploring the south and west on his motorcycle, brought a bottle of Grand Marnier to my campsite. He and I sat under the bright stars with the glow of Mexico to the south and sipped our drinks.

I just got an email from the fellow. Once again he is camping at Organ Pipe Cactus National Monument, sipping Grand Marnier under the stars, and oh! How I wish I were there. I often think about that monumental park, especially now that I am homebound, and I dream of going back and spending more than just a couple of days.

My fixator will come off in exactly 13 days. (But who’s counting.) Planning new adventures and a replay of previous adventures will give me courage during the arduous months of physical therapy.

And maybe, one day, I will be back in my tent under the sonoran stars.

***

(Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.”) Connect with Pat on Google+. Like Pat on Facebook.

19 Responses to “Once Upon a Time Under the Sonoran Stars”

  1. Katherine Says:

    Sounds like another grand adventure is in store for you, wishing you the best in your future travels!

  2. Chuck and Heidi Thurston Says:

    Half of recovery is the anticipation of a bright and fun filled future.

  3. LordBeariOfBow Says:

    Sounds good to me, XD

  4. Jack Says:

    I love the silence of the desert. Sometimes a breeze across your ears is the only sound. Get strong again and go!

  5. Coco Ihle Says:

    What a wonderful and positive post, Pat!!!! Did you email back your camping friend and set a goal/ date? That might give you extra impetus to reach that goal. I can see it happening!

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      It won’t be until next year, so yes, next winter, I will email him to see when he wants to go. Actually, I haven’t seen much of Arizona at all — I should probably plan to spend some time there. (Never been to the Grand Canyon. Can you believe that?)

  6. Jan Says:

    What a nice guy and what a great memory. BTW, we are headed to AZ in the near future but won’t make it as far. Still, anticipating Quiet Time.

  7. Kathy Says:

    Yes, yes, yes! I was so happy you were able to take that trip before your accident. Excited to hear you may have another in your future!

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      How funny. I was just thinking about you and wondering if we’d ever manage to meet!

      • Kathy Says:

        And now we’re headed back to Florida. I remember thinking how happy you looked in Florida – would love to see you there. We’ll be returning to Vegas for business so maybe we’ll meet up there yet.

        • Pat Bertram Says:

          Really? Back to Florida? I thought you hated Florida.

          • Kathy Says:

            I’m a California/Disney/beach girl who loves the Florida lifestyle – this will be our third time back so there must be something I like about it. If I said I hated Florida when I was homesick for the West, I would hope you wouldn’t hold me to that. 🙂

            Besides, I always sound like that when I get back from a cruise and then book another one. Your adventures in Florida reminded me of what I love about it. I so enjoyed seeing you there. Besides, when we all get to a certain age, we must make choices based on the current situation and potential future options.

          • Kathy Says:

            PS – I forgot to mention this is a job transfer. We’re very excited to get out of the desert – no place is perfect but beach girls don’t do the desert well. 🙂

          • Pat Bertram Says:

            Of course I don’t hold you to anything you might have said. I certainly change often enough! Best of luck with your move. And who knows – someday I may find my way back there.


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

