If You Have a Queasy Stomach, Don’t Look

I haven’t wanted to make people sick by the sight of hardware screwed into my arm, but people have asked to see my fixator. As one fellow said, “we need some gruesome stuff to make us feel how fortunate we are.”

So, here is my arm with the fixator attached. Don’t you wish you had such a handy dandy ebook rest?

As you can see, a person really can get used to anything.

***

(Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.”) Connect with Pat on Google+. Like Pat on Facebook.

7 Responses to “If You Have a Queasy Stomach, Don’t Look”

  1. rami ungar the writer Says:

    It doesn’t look that bad. Then again, I’ve seen worse.

  2. paulakayep Says:

    I don’t want it. But I don’t think it looks that bad. But I had a broken leg once and had screws and rods put in place. And couldn’t walk at all for 4 months. So I know what you are going through and it sucks!!! Prayers for continued healing!

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      I have internal pins and a plate, too. The pins in the external fixator go almost through the bone. I dread the pain of having to deal with those four deep puncture wounds once the fixator comes off. Luckily, I still have pain killers! And luckily, it wasn’t a leg. I can’t use crutches, and I can’t imagine not being able to walk for four months. I’m glad you survived!

  3. heidi94558 Says:

    Handy? Perhaps, but not I will not seek to acquire one. 😉 All I can think is how ever do you even get your arm into a sleeve without cutting them all? And when you all healed and done with the appendage, the pleasure you will have in just the simplest things we take for granted each day. It will feel like Christmas!

  4. Toddling Along | Bertram's Blog Says:

    […] am toddling along, trying to get back into my life now that the external fixator is off my arm. I’m taking a couple of dance classes, walking a bit, reading, writing […]


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

