There is Magic

When I was younger, I always wanted to have a special gift — ESP, maybe, or an ability to see ghosts. Or perhaps to have a touch of magic at my fingertips.

Now I am just as glad not to be special, glad to be mostly down-to-earth and pragmatic. I prefer to see the truth in the everyday world, though that never stops me from trying to become more than I currently am — to see further, to know more, to understand deeper.

magicWould I want to know what the future holds? Only if that future revolves around winning lottery numbers. I would love to win the lottery, to buy houses all over the country for the women I know who need a place to live, who want a bit of adventure but not much, so they could stay in whatever house they wanted for as long as they wanted before moving to another. Other than that, I don’t particularly care to know what will happen. I do know there will be good and bad. (Except that I don’t really believe in good and bad. It’s all life. All experience. All opportunity for growth.) Besides, I know what the future holds in the end, the same as it holds for all of us. Death. The getting there is the fun, or the not-fun. Either way, it should be interesting. (Grief wasn’t fun at all, but it sure was all-consuming, the most intense and life-changing emotional experience I’ve had besides falling in love.)

I certainly wouldn’t want the responsibility of seeing other people’s futures. What if I saw that something bad would happen? Would I be obligated to try to stop it? And if so, would it be the right thing to do? Maybe the bad thing would turn out to be good, and my interpretation of it was bad. And even if I saw it correctly, maybe changing the bad thing would create a vacuum for a worse thing to happen. Who needs that sort of pressure? Not me!

Would I want a touch of magic? Only if I could magic my books to bestsellerdom. Other than that, I wouldn’t know what to do with magic. To give myself what I want, first I need to know what I want, and that has been my problem for the past few years. I haven’t a clue what I want, don’t have any idea how I would like to shape my life. And anyway, I’m tired of trying to figure out what I want. It’s making me question everything I do, and that makes it harder to like anything.

Magic realism author Malcolm R. Campbell (who gave me the idea for this post) suggested I could use magic to wish for happiness and contentment, but I wouldn’t waste magic on such a paltry wish. I never thought happiness was all that important (other things are more important to me such as truth, experiencing, learning.) Even if I were so inclined to happiness, finding happiness and contentment on my own would make it all the sweeter. And anyway, today I am happy and content. I get to start a new life tomorrow. Technically, it’s just a new place to stay awhile, but who knows? Anything can happen. And there is magic in that.

***

(Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.”)

9 Responses to “There is Magic”

  1. Constance Says:

    I know that it is hard, but go with the flow.
    I try, but I have some problems with it.

  2. rami ungar the writer Says:

    I’d like some magic myself. Oh, the things I could do with it! Make my books sell better, carve out more time for writing, influence our government…
    Too bad magic like that doesn’t come so easily. Or is okay with Jewish law.

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      What about the Kaballah? Isn’t that about mysticism and magic?

      • rami ungar the writer Says:

        Yes, but you have to be at least 40 years old and already steeped in knowledge beforehand. And even then, it’s more about understanding the word from a mystical POV. All the legends of magical Kabbalistic rabbis are just that, legends.
        (BTW, that thing Madonna’s part of isn’t real Kabbalah. It’s a scam based on taking Kabbalah precepts and turning them into a religion.

  3. Chuck and Heidi Thurston Says:

    Why does this remind me of “The Catcher in the Rye?”

  4. James Rafferty Says:

    As always, thoughtful words that go deeper than the title of the post. There is a magic, at least in the words that sometimes pour out from us.


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

