Beguiled

In traveling, as in reading, the surprises scattered among the expected are what make an experience exceptional. Although I have seen thousands of lovely views, the unlooked for, the unforeseen, the unanticipated are the most memorable. Going around a bend and seeing a fabulous valley spread out far beneath me. Finding fanciful rock formations hidden behind a bleak landscape. Passing a fairytale house in a prosaic neighborhood. All wonderfully unexpected.

In Kansas, which has the reputation of being a rather boring state, I have been beguiled by the scattered sculptures that enhance the natural beauty of the Wellington and Wichita area. A herd of unheard horses thundering across a lawn. Children reading. Water fowl taking flight. A blue heron all but hidden in the reeds. These photos are below.

Other sculptures I only caught glimpses of as we passed — children jumping into a swimming hole, a mother and child walking in the garden, a prairie woman gathering flowers, a little boy catching minnows by a pond, a man soaking his feet in a fountain.

Apparently, there are dozens of such sculptures scattered about the Wichita area, though I only saw these few. Still, whenever anyone speaks of Kansas in a derogatory tone, I will smile to myself and remember these wonderful sculptures that add a fillip of playfulness to beautiful but otherwise unsurprising scenes.

***

(Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.”)

***

6 Responses to “Beguiled”

  1. LordBeariOfBow Says:

    There seems to be a lot of English influence in the garden scenes that you show; or is that my imagination?

  2. Katherine M Cundiff Says:

    You share the most beautiful pictures, thank you for the memories and the experience of you! ((HUGS))

  3. Coco Ihle Says:

    I’m really enjoying your photos along with your wonderful posts, Pat!

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      I’m glad you’re enjoying my journey, Coco, and I’m so very glad you were a part of it. A major part, actually, considering my little almost catastrophe at your place and your kindness in helping me put my car back in working condition.

      From: “Bertram's Blog” To: ptbertram@yahoo.com Sent: Saturday, June 25, 2016 12:12 PM Subject: [Bertram’s Blog] Comment: “Beguiled” #yiv3741153571 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv3741153571 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv3741153571 a.yiv3741153571primaryactionlink:link, #yiv3741153571 a.yiv3741153571primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv3741153571 a.yiv3741153571primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv3741153571 a.yiv3741153571primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv3741153571 WordPress.com | | |


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

