Georgia on my Mind

Georgia is an awe-inspiring place. So often on this journey I travelled gorgeous tree-lined roads, but in the sameness, the prettiness palled. In the Pine Mountain region, however, every turn brought a new view, which increased my appreciation.

When I first arrived in the area, I didn’t understand why it was considered mountainous. The terrain had risen gently, the hills so subtle, its mountain-ness seemed more of a name than a fact. And then I pulled into an overlook, and a world of tree tops lay far below me. Such a fantastic view!

In many areas, I saw trees draped in purple flowers. I should have just enjoyed the vision of loveliness instead of researching the blooms because I discovered that instead of being the mountain laurel I thought it was, it turned out to be Chinese wisteria, an invasive parasite that eventually can strangle its host.

But then, nature always was a bit of a brute, hiding its ghastly ways beneath a cloak of beauty.

And oh, there is so much beauty!

***

(Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.”)

***
(When I saw the log cabin, I was reminded of the current small-house craze, which shows how history repeats and reinvents itself.)

7 Responses to “Georgia on my Mind”

  1. pamkirst2014 Says:

    But then, nature always was a bit of a brute, hiding its ghastly ways beneath a cloak of beauty.

    Perfect line! Love it—

  2. Constance Says:

    Enjoying your photos.

  3. rami ungar the writer Says:

    Nature is a femme fatale.

  4. Coco Ihle Says:

    Pat, these photos made me miss my home in Alabama–so similar. Beautiful!!

  5. Suzette Griffin Says:

    Hi Bertram, Where will you be in N.C? I follow your blog and live in NC. I camp alone some since my husband died almost two years ago. I just got out of the hospital this week from a bout with pneumonia . It is so strange how life puts you on a path just to turn around and the path is no longer there. I had planned on seeing if I could meet up with you but one thing after another has prevented it. I admire you so much for the courage to take out alone the way you have. Let me know where in NC you will be. I live in the center of the state north of Charlotte.

    Suzette Griffin

    Sent from my iPad

    >


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

