Turtle Time

I have spent the past three days on Amelia Island, taking walks and resting. I’ve been fighting a cold or a sinus infection. I don’t know which — sometimes it’s hard to tell the difference. All I know is that I’ve been congested, enervated, and had a tendency to crankiness. Even worse, I haven’t been feeling the thrill of this journey. In my defense, it’s hard to be wide-eyed with wonder for weeks on end (eight weeks so far!), especially if one is fighting to breathe.

Still, this has been a lovely place to roam around — walks on the beach and hikes through Egan’s Creek Greenway, a 300-acre nature preserve. On all those excursions, the biggest joy, besides the lovely scenery of course, was catching glimpses of turtles. Often they were shy and slipped into the water before I could get a photo, but a couple of times they stopped and pretended to be rocks. One fellow even posed for me.

Despite signs warning about the presence of alligators, I didn’t get to see one. The rustling in the bushes that I thought might be an alligator turned out to be a rabbit, but I did see a lot of dragonflies and one lone cardinal.

My idyll on Amelia Island is coming to an end. Tomorrow I head into Georgia. I hope I can ditch the crankiness and muster the enthusiasm necessary to make the most of the opportunity. There is so much to see and experience and be grateful for.

***

(Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.”)

11 Responses to “Turtle Time”

  1. snakesinthegrass2014 Says:

    Join the club. We’ve lived here for over a year now and still haven’t seen an alligator!

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      Maybe the signs are just there to give tourists a thrill.

      (Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.”)

  2. Kathy Says:

    We saw a baby on the sidewalk in front or our house and larger ones by a pond when we were living in Orlando

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      There is something so charming about turtles!

      (Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.”)

      • Kathy Says:

        I do love turtles but my sightings in the neighborhood were gators. One year they were especially active jumping from pond to pond during mating season. I learned that if a gator is chasing you, you should zigzag.🙂

        • Pat Bertram Says:

          Have you really had an alligator chasing you? Oh, my. I’m not sure that’s the sort of adventure I’d put on my wish list, but I will remember to zig zag if ever I happen to end up on a gator’s wish list.

          (Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.”)

          • Kathy Says:

            No, thankfully I didn’t but this pond-hopping mating thing was in the paper along with the instructions to zig zag and I kept an eye out for where to zig and zag on my daily neighborhood walks with a pond on every block – lol!

  3. Coco Ihle Says:

    Don’t worry, Pat, you’ll get your mojo back. Feeling stopped up can wear on anyone.🙂

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      The woman I am staying with says I can stay until I feel better, but if it’s allergies as I suspect, staying longer won’t help.

      Still, even though Florida hasn’t been good to me, it’s been good for me. It was great visiting you and meeting the others. 

      (Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.”)

  4. Malcolm R. Campbell Says:

    I wonder if the southern brand of pollen is getting to you. Nice to see the inevitable turtles lined up on logs.

  5. frederick anderson Says:

    I love the sign! Believe me, if I met an alligator I would give it every inch of the respect it deserved! Sorry about the cold, though there is just a touch of schadenfreude in my sympathy. I thought we English had the monopoly on the common cold…


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

