Living Artistry

Who would have thought there was so much to do in and around Weatherford, Texas? Butterfly gardens. Exotic animal sanctuaries. House tours. And gardens.

The last field trip my friend took me on was to the Chandor Gardens, a series of formal gardens created by Douglas Chandor, a renowned English portrait painter. “Living artwork” turned out to be his true calling. From 1936 until his death in 1953, he worked on the gardens, each a secluded gem of statues, waterfalls, fountains, trees, shrubs, rocks, and flowers, with surprises around every corner. (My favorite of the following photos is the tree with a tiny door at the base.)

After his wife’s death in 1970, the gardens grew wild for twenty years, but finally someone bought the place and brought the gardens back to life.

The gardens were a beautiful end to my stay in Texas. In a few hours I will be in Louisiana, hoping the rains don’t wash me away.

***

(Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.”)

***

3 Responses to “Living Artistry”

  1. Malcolm R. Campbell Says:

    What a beautiful place. I’m glad it was rescued and put back into shape to folks can enjoy it. I especially like the two fu dogs guarding the trial.

  2. rami ungar the writer Says:

    Sounds like a wonderful place to visit.

  3. Coco Ihle Says:

    Truly a beautiful place, Pat. Great pics and I’m sure you enjoyed this experience. There’s more to come.


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

