My Beach Front Property

I left Alice, Texas feeling great. I’d had a good night’s sleep and the whole day stretched ahead of me to get my oil changed and the valves adjusted.

I headed directly to the VW dealer that offered an express oil change lane, they ushered me into line, and then my momentum crashed to a halt. Although those VW aficionados loved my car (even the office workers sneaked a peak at the great-looking classic) not a single mechanic knew how to adjust the valves. Some didn’t even know what they were (one fellow wanted to send me to a tire dealer for valve stems). The only folks who knew what needed to be done were suits, and though I cajoled, they didn’t want to get their hands dirty, not even for old time’s sake. They did, however, make numerous phone calls and tracked down a mechanic who only worked on air-cooled VWs. He had bad knees, so while we waited for his younger employee to come into work (and while we waited for the engine to cool) I visited with his wife, who worked as his office manager.

Apparently the lure of my lovely car was too much, because he adjusted the valves himself and gave the car a good going over. He thought everything looked great, was working smoothly (except that the valves had become too tight, which is why the engine got hot enough to vapor lock). He even took the time to clean my windshield and fill my tires.

And then I was on my way to Padre Island. What can I say? Ocean (well, gulf). Beachfront property. Walks on the beach. Private bird tour. New friend. (Spent most of the day talking to a woman from Colorado who pretty much lived on tbe road. Instant sisterhood.)

I paid for two nights, and then this morning paid for two more. The humidity is the highest I’ve ever experienced. Any higher, it would be called rain. And the wind is constant. (Last night I kept waking up when my tent hit me in the face because it was laid almost flat in the wind) but the tent held up. There was so much moisture on my bug this morning that I took the opportunity to clean the car. (Had no need for a hose. A soon as I wiped off the first layer of dirt/water, another layer of water appeared.

I didn’t want anyone to worry about me (and I didn’t want the car to rust after too much non-use), so I drove to town today where I found a cell signal.

I’ll be leaving Padre island on Saturday morning and will head for Austin. I will be meeting a dear friend for the first time, and I plan to get a motel room for the night so I look presentable.

But now? Ho hum. Back to Paradise.

***

(Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.”)

***

6 Responses to “My Beach Front Property”

  1. Malcolm R. Campbell Says:

    It’s always nice to take a car to a dealer and have people say, “huh, never seen anything like this before.” Glad you finally got it sorted out.

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      It’s as bad ad going to a doctor abd have him/her say “Oops.”

      (Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.”)

  2. Terri Says:

    Thank goodness that you found someone with classic car knowledge. We used to live in south Texas, I know the humidity is bad. Are you still going to San Antonio? The riverwalk in so beautiful, and there is a tour boat that takes you around the river. As you drive up to Austin, you may want to stop at a little German town called New Braunfels. They have the best sausage and bbq. You will probably drive up on interstate 35. Have a safe and fun time. Looking forward to your next blog!

  3. Cicy Rosado Says:

    Beach front property that is what the high desert is going to be some day LOL!

  4. Kathy Says:

    Great story about finding somebody to do the valves. I remember getting vapor lock in Baker, CA in my old Woody convertible. And until I’d been to Bangkok, Houston was the place with the most humidity – more so than Florida, it seems to me. I also recommend San Antonio. And, yes, the beach sounds fabulous! Enjoy!


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

