I’m Having a Real Adventure Now

One of my mother’s sisters used to say that if you got tp where you were going without any trouble, it was an excursion. If you had problems, it was an adventure.

Well, I am on an adventure now! Sort of. Is it a problem if it isn’t really a problem?

Shortly after I passed through El Paso, I stopped at a fast food place to use the restroom, and my car didn’t start. Dead battery. (It still had a year left on the warranty, which is why I hadn’t already replaced it.) I have emergency road service through my insurance company, so that wasn’t a problem. What gave me pause is the location of the battery — under the back seat. A seat, I might add, that is completely full of supplies and equipment for my journey. So I unloaded the car for the guy to jump start the engine, loaded it all up again, and drove to the closest AutoZone. A straight five mile jog back down the road I had been traveling. And then I had to unpack the car again and repack it.

By then, it was too late to make the two-hour journey to the Guadalupe Mountains, so once again, I spent the night in a motel. This one was way overpriced with zero amenities or charm, but it was in the right place.

And best of all, a Whataburger was within walking distance. (I hadn’t been near the restaurant for almost three decades, so it was a real treat. As good as I remembered.)

My auto body guy who discovered the brakes that had been hacked instead of being fixed, the fuel lines that I paid to have fixed but weren’t, and various other minor details like that, used to tell me that God loved me. And so it is.

If the battery was going to die, it couldn’t have happened at a better time or place. What if it had died when I was at some remote campground without a cell signal?

But it didn’t.

I have felt from the beginning that this is a magic journey; I believe it still.

And oh, what an adventure I am having!

***

(Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.”)

***

3 Responses to “I’m Having a Real Adventure Now”

  1. Judy Galyon Says:

    Glad things weren’t any worse, and that you are ok. Look forward to seeing you….whenever.

  2. Paula Says:

    You are on an adventure, for sure!

  3. Coco Ihle Says:

    Yes, I believe you are blessed! Onward Ho!


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

