Around and Around I Go

My New Year’s resolution to write more seems to have sputtered out before I ever got a chance to make good, but the year is still new. I have more than eleven months to find a way back to writing more. Contrary to popular belief, New Year’s resolutions are for the entire year, so if you think you’ve already broken your resolutions, think again. Try again. That’s what I’m going to do.

Ferris WheelStill, it’s hard to write if I have nothing to say. About the only things going on in my head are plans for my journey across country, and sometimes I’m embarrassed to continue writing about those plans and preparations. I’ve been talking about some kind of epic journey for years, though the scope of the journey has changed. At the beginning, it was about going to bookstores across the country to promote my books, and to that end, I bought all sorts of authorish clothes. Flowing tops. Colorful scarves. Dramatic hats. When that fizzled (I wrote to all the independent bookstores in the country and received not a single response) I got the idea of an epic walk, such as the California Coast Trail, the Pacific Crest Trail, or maybe even a walk across the country. When I discovered the impracticalities of such an epic hike (impractical for me, that is, since I can’t carry a heavy pack), I decided upon a cross-country trip, camping and hiking as I go — a sampler of possibilities.

I now have more gear than might be practical, but I need to be prepared for many eventualities. This is supposed to be a fun trip, not a death-defying adventure. Though, to hear people’s warnings, any trip a woman takes by herself defies death. I have heard so many warnings that I no longer listen. If I heeded any of them, I’d never set out. And that would be a sort of death in itself. It would be bad enough to give in to my own fears, but truly stultifying to give in to other people’s fears.

And I have plenty fears of my own. Well, not fears. More like trepidation. Worry. Can I really do this? Take off with no firm plans? Camp out despite dire predictions for unprecedented storms? Go hiking with no support system? Deal with all sorts of physical discomfort? Live with unfamiliarity for weeks on end? Stay with people I only know online?

I tell myself I’ll be fine once I’m on the road and have set up my first campsite. I know challenges and great wonders are in store for me if I have but the courage to go. (And then, of course, I’ll be fulfilling my resolution to write more, because I’ll have things to write about!)

I still have to have one more thing to do with my car (the new engine needs to be checked and the valves readjusted), and I’ve paid rent until February fifth, but then . . . do I stay longer, or do I go? I don’t particularly want to spend another month here in this doghouse (the people who own the house where I am currently staying have seven dogs, one of whom hates me and has tried to attack me), but then I worry I will be leaving too soon and will heading into winter storms. (Of course, if I wait too long, I’ll be heading into summer storms and have to deal with heat besides.)

Around and around I go. Aren’t you glad I haven’t been writing more?

***

(Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.”)

7 Responses to “Around and Around I Go”

  1. Coco Ihle Says:

    Don’t worry, Pat. The right time will reveal itself when, well, it’s the right time. Meanwhile, relax and know you have a huge fan base just waiting for you to write again! 🙂

  2. ShirleyAnnHoward Says:

    I’d be happy to pray with you for the Lord’s guidance. It never fails. PM me if you wish.

  3. Betty Rountree Says:

    When you get the car prepared, just think about whether or not you have any ‘loose ends’ that need tying up! If there’s nothing keeping you in one spot, … then you can ‘think’ along the way to your future. What direction are you considering for the first couple of hundred miles? If you’re headed toward a certain ‘spot’, and it’s a longer drive, consider taking the first night ‘in transit’ in a motel.
    You might consider the 2nd night in a controlled environment, like the ‘tent area’ of a KOA, where you can experience the actual ‘set-up’ and take-down’ of the camp, sleeping outdoors in an unfamiliar place, getting used to the ‘night sounds’ in a new environment, a(nd start becoming accustomed a new unusual location, to differentiating between ‘normal’ and ‘alert’ modes, and whatever ‘rearrangements’ needed in storing your gear, what items you may need unexpectedly, and get an idea of what your comfort zones will be in new locations.
    You’ve got lots of people cheering you on, and wanting to meet you as you travel.
    How exciting it will be when you can experience the joy that comes with fulfilling your dreams! I suspect you will enjoy the freedom when the time comes to actually begin the trek. You’ll know when the time is ‘right’ for you!!

    .

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      Great advice! I am planning on taking it slowly. I have no real destination, just to go, see what happens. I know a few stops I want to make, some people I want to see, but mostly, I hope to go where the road leads me. Pat Bertram author of the suspense novels LightBringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Also the author of Grief:The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenchingto read, and at the same time full of profound truths.”  http://patbertram.com 

      From: “Bertram's Blog” To: ptbertram@yahoo.com Sent: Monday, January 25, 2016 4:48 PM Subject: [Bertram’s Blog] Comment: “Around and Around I Go” #yiv6515734421 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv6515734421 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv6515734421 a.yiv6515734421primaryactionlink:link, #yiv6515734421 a.yiv6515734421primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv6515734421 a.yiv6515734421primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv6515734421 a.yiv6515734421primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv6515734421 WordPress.com | | |

  4. maryrussel Says:

    Sounds like a celebration of life. Have you ever read Travels with Charlie by John Steinbeck? Maybe you could take one of the friendlier dogs with you for a bit of protection.


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

