Oh, My, Isn’t It a Beauty!

I got my car back today, exactly as the mechanic promised, everything new or rebuilt or upgraded— engine, transmission, clutch, firewall, cv’s, alternator, and a host of small parts. He said my VW is now the second best he’s seen, the best being an 2003 bug manufactured in Mexico that ended up in the USA and was somehow made legal. But compared to my car, that one is just a baby. Mine is . . . astonishing.

It is astonishing that the car kept going with only necessary maintenance for so many years. It is astonishing I have owned but one car my entire life. It is astonishing that I managed to find both a great body guy and a great air-cooled VW engine guy to do do the restoration, and that I had the money to pay them. And it truly is astonishing that a car I thought was almost moribund has risen from the dead and is now as new as a 44-year old vehicle can be.

Oh, my. Isn’t it a beauty!

***

(Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.”)

***
Rebuilt engine

and the mechanic who did the work.

7 Responses to “Oh, My, Isn’t It a Beauty!”

  1. LordBeariOfBow Says:

    Obviously genuine artisans, you were indeed fortunate to find such men these days. Your vehicle looks like its just rolled off of the assembly line.

    I hope you have an enjoyable peaceful Christmas season and I look forward to following you once again in the coming year.

    Cheers Brian,

  2. Wanda Hughes Says:

    She is indeed a beauty! So nice you finally have her, pretty and running well. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you!

  3. ShirleyAnnHoward Says:

    Greetings to you, Pat, at Christmas. And blessings for safe travel of your well-planned miles.

  4. Coco Ihle Says:

    I know you are a proud mama, Pat!!! What a masterpiece!!!! True artists are so rare and you are really blessed to have found them!!! A very Merry Christmas to you and an adventure filled new year!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. A Time of Preparation | Bertram's Blog Says:

    […] Oh, My, Isn’t It a Beauty! […]


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

