Ya Habibi!

Ya Habibi means “my darling” or “my beloved” in Arabic, and it’s the name of one of the songs to which we danced this past weekend. The experience was grueling, involving a ten-hour dress rehearsal on Thursday followed by two performances on Friday, one on Saturday evening, and a matinee on Sunday. Mostly we sat (or stood) waiting for our two 3-minute segments. Since the program was almost three hours long, that was a lot of waiting in an uncomfortable costume. Gorgeous raiment, but uncomfortable.

yahabibi

The experience was also awesome. We caused quite a commotion with our costumes, moves, and the whole lot of shaking that went on. It’s really incredible playing to a receptive audience, but truly, despite a few minor missteps, we were fabulous, and deserved the applause, hoots, and whistles.

yahabibi5

A friend took a couple of photos of us dancing (I am the one in the silvery mauve; the rest of the performers got left out of the photo) and even met me at the stage door with flowers. I felt like a star. And, in fact, as we were leaving the theater, the woman who dealt with the lighting said, “Here come the stars.”

?????????????

Ah, the joys of the limelight! I will be eternally grateful to my dance teacher for giving me this priceless opportunity.

***

(Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.”)

7 Responses to “Ya Habibi!”

  1. rami ungar the writer Says:

    Habibi has also become a slang term among Hebrew speakers. I didn’t know that it was Arabic until I read this post. I was like, “Wait, haven’t I heard that used by Hebrew speakers before?” and went online to see where the term came from. You learn something new everyday.
    I’m glad the show went so well and that you had fun, Pat. I wish I could’ve seen it. What are your plans now that you’ve achieved celebrity?

  2. Coco Ihle Says:

    I am sooooooo excited to see these photos!!!!! They make my heart sing! Now, you’re getting the feeling of what dance does to the soul and what an enthusiastic audience does for the spirit! It’s uplifting, encouraging, freeing! I feel like a mother bird watching my chick fly for the first time. I’m soooo proud!!!!!

  3. Kathy Says:

    Beautiful! There used to be a music group in Morocco at Epcot (Disney World) named “Mo’Rockin” and we had a couple of their CDs and one of the songs was called “Habibi” – in fact, they sang it twice on one album. We’d sing along, having no idea what any of it meant. Eventually, we looked up “habibi.” I had forgotten all about it until now. What a fun evening for you – love it! What *will* you do for an encore?🙂


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

