End of Internet Service

This will be my last day of wireless service, at least of the guaranteed/secured variety. I will have access to wireless at public locations, of course (assuming I want to bring my computer to such places) and I will have my phone. But easy access will be gone until I again stay at a house with wireless.

I have rented a room in a house where I will be able to also house my car. Wireless? Garage? It would have been a hard decision to make, but in truth, it was the only viable place I could find. I spent one appallingly depressing day checking out various places, and oh, my. One house was basically a warehouse for old, used up men, one of whom was a stroke victim who had not fully recovered, and another who was slowly being consumed by Alzheimer’s. Another place was okay, but the person renting the room was using it at the moment, so basically it would have been a bed in the middle of chaos. And the third place. Eeek. I am not a neatnik by any means, but the place was littered with trash and stunk. Oh, my.

But, with a bit of effort and luck, things did work out. If the only drawbacks are no internet, a long commute, and a morose roommate who keeps to his side of the house, then I came out ahead, especially since the mastewindr bedroom I will be renting comes with a lock and a key. And anyway, no internet means no distractions, so perhaps it would lead to working on my book.

The place I’ve been staying the past couple of nights has no heat, and I’ve been freezing, which has made me wonder about my sanity in attempting a cross country trip in winter, even if only along the lower edge of the country. But I am getting restless and need an adventure. Besides, the whole point of an unsettled life is to take what comes, and winter is definitely coming. And I am going.

I will still have my phone to keep in touch. Will let you know what is going on as I find out. Meantime, keep warm!

***

(Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.”)

7 Responses to “End of Internet Service”

  1. LordBeariOfBow Says:

    I was going to put a tick in the like box but thought it inappropriate, I neither envy you your situation or facing a cold and what to me would be a cruel winter, I know the American winters can be very cold and bitter. Anyway press on stiff upper lip and all that, you seem to be keeping in good humour so I think all is well for your future.

  2. leesis Says:

    may your adventures be grand and yes…write the book!!! x

  3. Malcolm R. Campbell Says:

    We use as Verizon JetPack at places where there’s no Internet. It brings a WiFi hotspot to any place within a Verizon service area. By no means as economical as a landline connection, but when used sparingly, one can get by.

  4. Carol Says:

    Hate to be losing touch with you, but sometimes we all have to work through what someone earlier called a “life lull”. Life has its seasons. I hope you will use this one to write that book while having an amazing winter adventure.

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      You won’t be losing touch.  As you can see, I still have my phone! But yes, this is definitely a lull in my life. Nothing major to work through, no great adventures to undertake for another few weeks. 

  5. Harold Michael Harvey Says:

    Needless to say enjoy the journey. Should you find yourself in North Georgia, drop by for a cup of tea and a home cooked meal.


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

