Never Changing. Never the Same.

I went for a three-hour beach walk yesterday. It was perfect timing, with low tide at the mid point of my hike so I mostly had hard wet sand to walk on. It was also a perfect ocean day, cloudy and foggy, and so cool I needed to wear a windbreaker and a scarf around my neck.

For all those hours, the scene never changed — the sea on one side of me, the grass-covered dunes on the other, the sand in front of me, all narrowing to a single point in the distance. It almost seemed as if I were on a treadmill, going nowhere. And yet the scene was ever changing — birds came into view and left, waves of various intensities broke on shore, an assortment of shells and gravel littered the sand.

This never-changing / never-the-same view made me think of us and how we always seem to be the same and yet we are always changing, at least our view point is changing. I don’t know how much we can change fundamentally. At rock bottom, beneath our emotions and our mental chatter, we are awareness, and awareness simply is. But our viewpoint changes with every new challenge, with every widening of our horizons.

I feel as if I should add to this piece, fill out the thought, add a pithy comment or a bit of wit, but apparently, this is the totality of my insight.

Never changing. Never the same.

***

(Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.”)

***

5 Responses to “Never Changing. Never the Same.”

  1. Juliet Waldron Says:

    Let the last sentence stand. Let it be! Thanks for sending ocean and sand and fog to visit me.

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      I’m glad to brighten your day. It seems strange to think that even though I’ll be gone from this area in a couple of weeks, the ocean will be the same. 

  2. Wanda Hughes Says:

    Your viewpoint is always one of seeing the beauty and the humor is your surroundings. That is truly a gift.

  3. Constance Says:

    I like your photo.
    It is different with the lighting.
    Not only do you write well, but take good photos too.

  4. rami ungar the writer Says:

    You have such a great way of describing things, Pat. It’s almost philosophical, in a way.


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

