Another Terrible Day at the Beach

You know I’m being facetious, don’t you? There’s no such thing as a terrible day at the beach. Unless, of course, a tsunami hits, or you turn your back on the ocean
and a sneaker wave pulls you under or . . .

Well, I guess there is such a thing as a terrible day at the beach, but today wasn’t one of them. The woman I’m staying with, her husband, and a mutual friend who was passing through, met me for a fish fry at an oceanside restaurant. Invigorating conversation, wonderful food, great ambiance — who could ask for more?

I could, of course, ask for more, such as a timely finish to my car restoration, but I’m not going to. Today was a lovely day, so very marine, and I wouldn’t want to dilute it with thoughts of more.

***

(Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.”)

***

4 Responses to “Another Terrible Day at the Beach”

  1. leesis Says:

    if you love beaches you will love Australia🙂

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      I still have Australia on my radar! A friend who was just there told me about trains catering to backpackers. Sounds like something I should look into. And work programs that gain you extra visa time.

  2. Patzilla Says:

    I love the characterization of the day as “… so very marine.” Living close to the sea and its attendant bay, I know exactly what that means.


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

