Adventure Indeed!

I’m twenty minutes into my trip. Taking the Amtrak bus to catch the train in Bakersfield. And there is already an emergency. A peacock collided with the windshield. Glass everywhere. We’re pulled to the side of the road waiting for a replacement bus. Apparently we could be here for hours, so I doubt I will get to Eureka today.

Although I feel bad for the bird and for the driver (he seems a bit flummoxed), I find myself smiling. As my Aunt Mil always said, “If things go as planned, it’s an excursion. When they don’t, it’s an adventure.”

I am officially on an adventure!

***

(Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.”)

7 Responses to “Adventure Indeed!”

  1. Kathy Says:

    Yay for adventure!!

  2. Cicy Rosado Says:

    quote! oh my lol

  3. leesis Says:

    hey cool…(well sorry for bird but)
    I’m sure it gave you a chance to talk to new folks!

  4. Jan Blondet Says:

    Wait a minute, I reread what you said….Raven or peacock? Not that it matters, the bird is still toast.

  5. Coco Ihle Says:

    Your life certainly isn’t ordinary, is it, Pat! Poor bird, but glad you’re okay.

  6. Constance Says:

    Glad that it was only a windshield.


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

