Feeling Very Old

I’ve feeling very old at the moment, though come to think of it, youth (relatively speaking) is gradually creeping back.

I barely made it through tap class this afternoon. Tap is one of the harder dance classes for me since tap is not just a matter of remembering steps and sequences, or even getting the beat right. There is all that, of course, but there is also the tapping — the sounds one’s feet need to make. And today, my feet secret simply didn’t want to cooperate. Added to that ignominy, a young woman dancer came to class, and her hopping and bopping made me realize I was way past being young. Maybe even . . . shhhh, don’t tell . . . old.

In my defense, I’d walked the two miles to the studio in 100° weather, and tap was my third class of the day in a studio with a broken air-conditioner. I imagine anyone would be exhausted after such a day in such heat, even a much younger woman. I did wimp out and accept a ride back to the house where I am staying, even though the temperature had dropped to a temperate 99°.

Days like today remind me I am a hothouse flower, used to a fairly consistent environment, and they make me reassess the feasibility of a long trip, whether on foot, in a car, or both as I am currently considering. What would I do in terrible heat if there were no cool place to rejuvenate? How would I handle any sort of relentless weather? But ah, that’s the adventure, the ifs and the hows.

My research is leading me into all sorts of fascinating areas. Did you know there was a hiking trail around Lake Tahoe? The Tahoe Rim Trail is 165 miles, and you end up at your starting point! So no hitchhiking to get back to one’s vehicle at trail’s end, which seems a bit of an iffy proposition to me. The whole point of adventuring, at least in my case, is to live, not to court death by taking unnecessary risks, and any talk of a thru hike on one of the long trails always seems to include hitchhiking. All of the national parks have exquisite trails, both long and short, and those would be the first to explore. Long trails would come, if at all, when I know more about life on the road.

Luckily, I’m already feeling younger, so such thoughts are not as wildly improbable as they were when I started writing this blog. Amazing what a cool and controlled environment can do for one’s well-being. And I’m thinking of giving up such an environment, even if only temporarily? Yep. Sure am. For the adventure of it.

***

Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fireand Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.” Connect with Pat on Google+. Like Pat on Facebook.

3 Responses to “Feeling Very Old”

  1. mickeyhoffman Says:

    In Canada, Yoho Nat Park used to have trails with way houses about 7 miles apart that offer There is no auto access at all and you take their buses from the end of the trail. Check that out? Still my feeling is there is a difference between adventure and torture hah hah.

  2. Pat Bertram Says:

    Yes, definitely a difference! Which is why all the research. I want fun and a bit of a challenge, not a mosquito/tick-ridden, death-defying, painful and torturous trek.

  3. Constance Koch Says:

    Don’t feel intimidated by the young dancing visitor. From my end of the line, she sounded like a “Clogger”. She exaggerated the moves too. She was definitely was not with the rest of the group. Her generation seems to be loud and want to be noticed.
    The dance studio was unbearable to dance in. Royann was feeling sick. Could not handle the heat. that is why she left. I felt sickish when I left. Should not dance in heat like that. Not good for any of us.
    I like to walk, but not in 100 degree temperatures.
    Enjoy reading about all your researches. Sure have been learning a lot from you. Get a kick out of your humor. “Hot House Flower”! Will miss you when you leave.


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

