Being

I don’t know if you will find this as amusing as I do, but I’m sitting in my storage unit, taking a break from digging out stuff I need for the coming week, and rearranging boxes to make needful things more accessible. I feel perfectly comfortable here, as if I’ve always been unanchored without my possessions a constant presence in my life. Maybe I’m finally learning to be at home wherever I am, unanchored or not.

I called myself unanchored because although I don’t have a place of residence at the moment beyond the grace of my friends’ hospitality, calling myself homeless doesn’t fit with the current meaning of the word, or at least the current implications of the word. I am not destitute, not dysfunctional, not addicted to anything. I am merely in a state of transition, learning to go with the flow of life, experiencing whatever comes my way. And apparently what has come my way is my sitting in a storage unit, smiling at the ridiculousness of the situation.

(Actually, now that I think about it, it’s not so silly. The photo at the bottom of this post is what I am seeing. Is your view as lovely?)

When I left the house today, I made plans to meet up with my friend in four hours. She seemed concerned about what I would do with all that time. I suppose what I am currently doing is simply being. Not a bad way to spend a sunny afternoon.

Hope your day is as being-ful as mine.

***

(Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.”)

7 Responses to “Being”

  1. Kathy Says:

    That is pretty funny, Pat! I can so picture it. I grew up in Orange County but had to move away and my heart was/is still attached to it. There was a time when I did trade shows in Orange and L.A. Counties about every 6 weeks. So I had a storage unit there and it was like a piece of me was still living there. So, yes, I understand how one little storage unit can feel like home.🙂

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      When my things are scattered, I feel scattered. I’m hoping that if I make the whole world my home, it will always feel as if my things are at home with me wherever I am.

      • Kathy Says:

        That’s an interesting way to look at it. Having lived in several states, I sometimes feel like my memories are too scattered because I can’t touch them easily when I miss them. I’ll have to look at it your way.

  2. Constance Koch Says:

    As long as you have some treasured possessions, it does not matter where you are. They mean home to you.
    Some times, I envy you.
    I like seeing your Desert Photos. You have some very nice ones.
    I have 2 of these plants on the side of my house. I think that they are rather unique.

  3. Coco Ihle Says:

    Having been a military spouse and often living on base, we were not allowed to make any changes or to damage the walls of base housing, so our possessions became our symbols of home. Every time we moved, we’d set up those familiar items right away and then we felt at home. I guess that’s sort of an analogy to your situation. We didn’t really have a permanent home until we retired from the military, but that didn’t bother us. We were on an adventure, and so are you! May yours be fun, exciting, educational, whatever you want!


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

