Leaving the Nest

The papers for the sale of my father’s house will be signed next Wednesday. The buyers came for one last walk-through yesterday, and as I sat outside on the small wall separating this property from the neighbor’s, I marveled at how little time these people had spent inside the house. Twenty minutes the first time they came to look. Ten minutes today. I suppose with all the information and photos posted online, it doesn’t take more than that to decide you like a house, but it seemed so little. I mean, I spend more time test walking a new pair of hiking shoes before I decide to buy.

But I have heard that buying a house is an emotional experience, not necessarily a logical one, and besides, there are appraisers and inspectors for the more practical side.

bowl of lightsThey still like the house and still intend to buy it, so there will be no last minute reprieve for me. Just as well. It’s time for me to leave the nest. Literally, the nest. I built a small nest of pillows and comforters in one corner of one room, and that’s where I’m staying. The rest of the house is empty.

It’s nice and nicely symbolic to have these few days in the empty house. No furniture, no clutter, not even many necessities except for my nest, a few personal items, and my computer. And my bowls of light. (Hey! I bet that’s why the house sold so fast! The magic of light!)

When the couple and the realtor finished visiting the house, I gave the new owner a small gift, hugged her and wished her much happiness in this house. That hug, too, was symbolic. A passing of the torch. And a more binding contract than the one they will sign next week.

***

Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light BringerMore Deaths Than OneA Spark of Heavenly Fireand Daughter Am IBertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.” Connect with Pat on Google+. Like Pat on Facebook.

6 Responses to “Leaving the Nest”

  1. rami ungar the writer Says:

    I hope they liked the gift!

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      Actually, I gave them several gifts — I’m leaving the refrigerator, washer, and dryer with the house, and those all belong to me. I too hope they appreciate the gifts!

  2. leesis Says:

    Wow. The symbology of how this time is ending is profound Pat. A leap into the unknown…. :)xx

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      The unknown beckons! Some people think I’m nuts, some think I’m being reckless, most don’t understand why I’m doing this, but it feels right to me. I’m leaving the nest, and need to test my wings.

  3. Coco Ihle Says:

    God speed, Pat.

  4. Constance Says:

    I hope that you saved me the two books that I have not read. Would like to have the “Light Bringer”, if you have a copy available for me to purchase.
    I will remember you wherever you go by the books that I have received from you personally. They mean a lot to me, since I have known the author.
    I will be keeping the collection on my book shelf.
    Will be looking forward to reading your new book on the dance studio when it is published. Please save me a copy of this.
    If you choose to go on an adventure, I am glad I had the chance to know you. Enjoyed dancing with you
    Wish you the best in whatever you do or wherever you go.


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

