Different Tomorrows

I’m hunkered down in the carpetless kitchen, waiting for the carpets in the rest of the house to dry. I should open the windows to help the process along, but since the neighbors are outside burning meat, the windows remain shut. (Yeah, I know, they’re having a barbecue, but it smells like all they are doing is burning flesh.)

SunriseNo, I didn’t do the carpets myself. My dad’s “estate” paid to have them done. (Estate sounds so grand, doesn’t it? But it consists of little more than this house.) I didn’t even feel guilty lolling around while they did the work, though I did spend part of the time outside to stay out of their way. I certainly didn’t need to worry about them taking anything — there’s nothing to take. Although I still have some sorting and packing to do — clothes, computer accessories and other things I use every day — almost everything I own is stacked in the garage ready to be moved into a storage unit when the house is sold. And except for furniture, all my father’s things are gone.

I spent most of yesterday and last night getting ready for the carpet cleaners, finishing last minute projects, clearing tables, couches, and buffet to make them easier to move. When I took a break and looked around at my almost empty living room, I felt weird. And sad. And lonely. And a bit scared to realize this is really happening.

Next week the house goes on the market, and I will be one step from . . .

There are those dang ellipses again. I don’t know what I’m one step away from. Well, the future, of course, but I haven’t a clue what is in store for me. None of us do, of course, but we assume that tomorrow will like today, more or less, and for me, one of these tomorrows will be completely different.

I should be used to such different tomorrows by now. Almost forty years ago, I walked into a health food store and my tomorrows were forever changed. When the man I met that day died five years ago, my tomorrows were again forever changed. And now once again I am on the cusp of forever-changed tomorrows.

Sometimes I feel excitement at the thought of starting a whole new life, but more often than I care to admit, I feel the way I did last night. Sad. Lonely. Scared.

So many of my plans for adventure (well, ideas — I never actually got to the planning stage on any of them) have withered unborn. Although generally I am healthy, there are many things I can no longer do and others I never could do, such as walking the Pacific Crest Trail, so I am trying not to plan, but to just keep dealing with each of my todays.

And today is adventure enough for now.

***

Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire,andDaughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.” Connect with Pat on Google+. Like Pat on Facebook.

6 Responses to “Different Tomorrows”

  1. Malcolm R. Campbell Says:

    The house we’ve moved out of hasn’t sold yet, so we’re having it painted and are having the carpets ripped out and replaced. Having low-quality builder’s grade carpets + cats with claws makes cleaning them help, but not enough once all the furniture is removed. We’re finding that no matter what one fixes up, people always find excuses for why they don’t want the house when, actually, it’s just not a match to their lifestyle. Yet they have to find something to use as an excuse. I hope you’re cleaned carpets make the prospects happy.

    Malcolm

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      It’s strange for me to be having this experience of selling a house because I never owned one. Never wanted to. It sounds wonderful when people talk about the money they made in the real estate market, but not so wonderful when I hear about how hard it is to sell a house. If this house sells as fast as I think it will, maybe I should hire myself out as a real estate good luck charm.

  2. Malene Says:

    Amen to that. And, if I were anywhere in your vicinity, Pat, I would stop by and give you an uninvited, warm “everything will be ok” and “you are loved and treasured” hug.

    M.


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

