Updates and Update

I came online an hour ago to write a leisurely (or as leisurely as it gets in my newly hectic world) blog when my computer decided to update itself. I have my computer set to where Microsoft doesn’t update automatically, but apparently MS got tired of waiting for me to allow the updates and went ahead and hijacked my computer for a long while. There were a lot of updates because I restored the system during my “troubles” (computer troubles, that is) and so all the updates I’d recently uploaded needed to be reuploaded and applied along with the current ones. And I didn’t take the time to do the updates. Well, now for better or worse, the updates are done. And I still have a few minutes to update you as to my situation.

My life continues to be hectic and frustrating, but I see an end to my current workload. One by one, the items on my to do list are being ticked off (metaphorically, anyway — I never actually made a list. The length of it would probably have scared me into immobility.) And when the list is cleared? Who knows? I am still not making plans. My current philosophy “Either things will work out or they won’t” seems to be working for me at the moment.

Pericecreamhaps I should care about the near future, but I don’t, at least not yet. I suppose it will be a different matter when the house is sold and I have to scramble for a place to live, but that is not a problem for today.

Today I have to . . . well, to be honest, I guess I don’t have to do anything. The chores will wait for me. Maybe I’ll just scrounge a makeshift meal from the almost empty refrigerator. Unluckily (or maybe luckily), the only dessert I will see is the one decorating this blog. Thle refrigerator is so shiningly clean, I’ve been hesitant to fill it, and I don’t have a car to use for grocery shopping anyway.

But there is light even at the end of that particular tunnel. (There, I did it. Used that trite old saying even though I promised myself I wouldn’t.) I took my car to a guy who specializes in air-cooled VW engines, and he promised to try to fix the current problem immediately instead of waiting until the overall checkup in two weeks. He seemed to know what he was doing, so there’s hope. And if not, well, I’ll deal with it at the time.

It’s been nice visiting with you. See you tomorrow. Maybe.

***

Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, andDaughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.” Connect with Pat on Google+. Like Pat on Facebook.

9 Responses to “Updates and Update”

  1. frederick anderson Says:

    These days I deem it an extraordinary privilege when Microsoft allow me to use my computer myself…

  2. kencoffman Says:

    A guy I worked with for more than thirty years–one I had a friendly relationship with–had a heart attack and died. He was not an unhealthy, self-destructive person, he was active, family-oriented man. As we get older, there are far too many sad reminders that life is short and it’s a gift that can be withdrawn at any time.

  3. Malene Says:

    Pat,

    Please don’t take too many extended breaks from blogging. I’m afraid I’ve developed an addiction to your musings and I missed you earlier this week.

    XO,

    M.

  4. Carol Says:

    For all the frustration that computers can cause, we sure do hate it when they go AWOL just when we want to use them! Glad it appears to have itself sorted out again, and hopefully your car will soon be back in action, too.

    I don’t know about that empty fridge, however. In your position I think I’d be tempted to splurge on a few special foods to have in there for needy moments … even if I had to have them delivered. LOL.

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      I got my car fixed! Well, the present problem, anyway. There was a problem with the points and condenser, and he switched them out for an electronic ignition. No more problem! Some other minor problems will be fixed when I take it in for a tune-up at the end of the month. Yay! And I did get some special food. Hot dogs. I almost never eat hot dogs — I’m not sure they are actually food, but they were a treat for a change.

      • Carol Says:

        I have a few family members who cringe at the thought of hot dogs, but DH and I quite enjoy them occasionally — especially if we can roast them over a campfire. Barbecued is next best, but I’ll eat them boiled (and have been known to eat them raw, although now that I know what’s in them, I’m inclined to cook them well!).


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

