Don’t Worry About Me

A night-long session with a technician from Trend Micro, the purveyor of my antivirus protection, wasn’t enough to fix the problem of the antivirus program with a high CPU usage. My computer is slow again today, and again, Trend Micro is eating all my CPUs.

Don’t worry if you don’t hear from me for a couple of days. I’m fine, just nursing an aged and ailing computer. (Seems to be my lot in recent years — nursing aged or ailing people and possessions.) I’m hoping to schedule another session with the technician soon, so they can find the problem.

detectiveWhen I find myself fretting over my slow slow slow computer, I remind myself that either things will work out or they won’t. I’ve already broken my streak of daily blogging, so it’s not as if it’s going to be a major problem if the machine is out of kilter for a while. Besides, a friend of mine discontinued her internet and gave away her computer and, except for a touch of nostalgia at what she used to be able to do, she seems to have suffered no ill effects. Apparently, there is life off line.

Well, of course I know that — it’s just that except for dancing, I’m not particularly fond of my current offline life. Too much to do: getting my father’s house prepared for sale, finishing my started projects, and packing my stuff. But then, if I didn’t spend three hours a day working on my blog, I’d have those hours to do what I had to do and probably wouldn’t still have all those things to do.

But don’t worry — I won’t be getting rid of the internet any time soon.

Wishing you a wonderful weekend, on or off line.

***

Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fireand Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.” Connect with Pat on Google+. Like Pat on Facebook.

4 Responses to “Don’t Worry About Me”

  1. rami ungar the writer Says:

    I wish I had such an accepting attitude of life like yours, Pat. When I have a slow computer, I just get really annoyed.

  2. frederick anderson Says:

    I think technology and anger management go hand in hand. Often I catch myself indulging in a time-consuming exercise on this infernal machine which could be concluded in no more than a couple of minutes using the simple facility of pen and paper. Why, oh merciful Lord – WHY?

  3. Carol Says:

    Of course I missed you yesterday (altho’ admittedly I didn’t stay long enough to tell you so) and you have my sympathy over your computer woes. There’s little more frustrating than electronics that should work, they we expect to work, but they don’t, and nobody seems to be able to figure out why. I hope your gurus are able to solve the problem soon. But don’t think your writing companions will take lack of a computer as an excuse for you not to write. You should read what I wrote about on my blog yesterday! It was a verbal kick in the butt for Joylene, who has been goofing off. LOL. Granted, she doesn’t have your kind of excuse, but “writers write”, no matter what, so I’m expecting you to grab a pen and have at least one blog post ready for the moment your computer is set to go again.😉


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

