Did You Miss Me?

Yesterday was the first day in three and a half years that I didn’t post a bloggery. Did you miss me?

My life has spiraled out of control. Oh, nothing really bad, just a lot of little things — getting estimates on housecleaners to clean the house, arranging for a carpet and tile cleaner, scheduling window cleaners and all the myriad jobs that have to be done in preparation for putting a house on the market. Most of the arrangements are being done by the executor, but because I am here on the premises, a lot devolves on me.

BElectronic worldut that’s not why I didn’t post yesterday. If it had been at all possible, I would have taken a few minutes out of my day just for the discipline of writing, even if it had been at 11:55 pm. But at the time, my computer was being controlled by some guy in India or maybe by then it was the fellow in the Philippines. I lost track.

My computer has been running very slowly. Although I accept that as the price for using an old computer (only in the electronic world is eight years considered old age. To me, this is still a new computer), it seemed strange that solitaire was running slowly too. I wasn’t going to do anything about it because, well . . . because solitaire isn’t the best use of my time, though it is relaxing. I did a system restore to before I noticed the problem, thinking that perhaps one of the updates I’ve downloaded was corrupt, but the computer was even slower. So I checked “processes” on the task manager and discovered that my antivirus software was using all my CPUs.

To make a long story short, after eight hours of their cleaning out my computers temp files (I knew there were three or four, but there must be at a dozen), after installing and reinstalling their software several times, after doing disc cleanups and disc scans for corrupt files, they finally managed to get their program to a workable usage of CPUs at about 3:30am. Way too late to make my blog date or to do anything at all actually except fall on the bed already half asleep.

My hunch is that the program interpreted a corrupt file as a virus and tried to delete it or sequester it, and it didn’t work, but who knows. None of the people who worked on my computer knew, either. So we’ll see how it goes.

And we’ll see if I get back in the mode of daily blogging, or I will use this breaking of routine as an excuse to forego the discipline.

***

Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fireand Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.” Connect with Pat on Google+. Like Pat on Facebook.

12 Responses to “Did You Miss Me?”

  1. kencoffman Says:

    Yes, I missed your message from the front lines. We’re counting on you to show us the way.

  2. LordBeariOfBow Says:

    How aften do you clean your computer,check the registry and defrag? I check and do mine a couple of times each week, I’ve been using CCleaner for yonks and I never seem to get any problems like you were having, CCleaner is easy to install and use and theres no need to buy the upgrade, I just use the free cleaner and have been doing so for years it works a treat.

    I’ve also installed it on all my chums machines and they are all as happy as Larry with it,

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      I used to do it regularly until my life got so crazy. As it turns out, there is something else wrong since again the antivirus program is hogging all the cpus. I’ll look into CCleaner. Thank you.

  3. leesis Says:

    Actually Pat yes I did miss you. Life being what it is I don’t always respond to your posts. But one of the interesting experiences I have found using the internet is I feel as attached to my internet friends I havent met as much as I do to those who I see. Its weird…and for a while I was reluctant to call such folks ‘friends’ because I thought in some way it was a false relationship. But the reality is you, and another in the USA…an internet friend in Canada and one in Sri lanka all hold a dear place in my heart. As such if they/you somehow step outside their usual pattern of communication I worry for them/you. I confess that those who daily blog stress me somewhat because I dont always have the time to respond and worry that they/you think i don’t care nevertheless when they change their pattern i do worry. Particularly if their last post…like yours…was expressing a low moment. Adjusting to this fairly new way of being friends can be difficult. Nevertheless glad to know all is reasonably well. Oh, and by the way…if you end up going to New Zealand and not coming to Australia which is only a couple of hours away I will be most disgruntled!🙂

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      You won’t have to be disgruntled. If I am ever in your vicinity, I will make sure to see you! I’m thinking of going walkabout in Australia, even if I have to do it with a tour. Sounds very romantic.

  4. rami ungar the writer Says:

    I hate it when computers are slow, and trying to fix it makes it slower. But you know, I did wonder. I felt like something was missing from my day yesterday, and it was a good day too.

  5. Kathy Says:

    I would totally miss you if you weren’t online – love your posts! And, for me, breakdowns (or things going crazy) are what happen right before breakthroughs. Exciting!


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

