Realtor Time

I’ve spent the whole morning getting my father’s house ready for realtors to look at in preparation for putting the house on the market, and now I’m between realtor appointments.

The first realtor said he liked the house, but he might have been backpeddling. While looking the place over, he kept finding faults — the mantle over the fireplace would be a drawback for the younger crowd, the pillars that defined the greatroom were a mistake, the living room floor should have been tile to match the entryway and kitchen, the house was too plain to get the big bucks.

I found myself bristling at his words, as if he were insulting me, which was sort of strange. This is not a house I chose, and I had nothing to do with the design “flaws” the realtor took exception to — I just sort of landed here by accident. I got a grip on myself, or rather a grin on myself, since my reaction was rather humorous.

When he left, he said I was a nice lady, not high maintenance, and it would be a pleasure to work with me, but really, what else could he say, that he dreaded meeting me again? (And anyway, it’s the truth. I am a nice lady and I’m not high-maintenance.)

The next realtor will show up in a few minutes.

This is just the beginning. Strangers will be traipsing through the house, and I will have to live in unclutter, putting away projects each night to make sure the house is presentable in case of a showing, and eventually, someone will fall in love with the house, and it will be sold. And then . . .

My thoughts of the future always end with ellipses since I haven’t a clue where to go from here, but I’m okay with that. Finishing packing my stuff and dealing with realtors and potential buyers is enough to think about for now.

This is a big step for me, learning not to project myself too far into the future, and so far it’s working. I’m much more at peace with myself and the world than I have been for a long time. Now if I can just stop overthinking everything, I’ll be on my way to . . .

Yep. Those dang ellipses again.

***

Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fireand Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.” Connect with Pat on Google+. Like Pat on Facebook.

16 Responses to “Realtor Time”

  1. Paula Kaye Says:

    That is a really nice house. I don’t know if I could take all those remarks from a Realtor about MY home. Aren’t they supposed to tell you nice things so they can get the big bucks from the buyers. Being so negative won’t help if he points all that out to your buyers

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      It is a nice house. I doubt he will tell potential buyers the things he said to me. Maybe he figured it wouldn’t matter since I’m not the one who will hire him. Who knows why anyone does anything anymore.

  2. kencoffman Says:

    You will be paying big bucks to the Realtor, so you should be 100% comfortable with them. Check their reviews and don’t settle until you’re convinced the salesdroid has your back.

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      Good advice, Ken. Unfortunately, it’s not my choice. I’m pretty much stuck with the realtor the executor of the estate decides, and I don’t know if he will take my comfort level into consideration. Strange days.

  3. leesis Says:

    I’m sorry…he said you weren’t high maintenance? What the heck is it with people around you. What a sexist statement! Would he say that to a man? Not your point I know but jeezzzz! Maybe its an Australian viewpoint Pat but I am so often gobsmacked by things people say to you!!! Personally I would have told him to take his negative condescending misogyny bullshit somewhere else!

  4. SFH Says:

    “Now if I can just stop overthinking everything, I’ll be on my way to . . .”

    NEW ZEALAND!

  5. sumalama Says:

    If the photo is of your father’s home, what a beautiful house! My son and his wife are looking for a house, but they don’t have the kind of money the house in the photo should demand. He works in Fallbrook, CA. She works three-day shifts in Campo, CA, so the length of her commute isn’t important. But it IS such a beautiful house! The house will attract the people it wants. Ignore the poop from the realtor.

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      Yes, that’s my father’s house. My rooms are behind the garage. So now you know where I am. This is an undervalued area, so the house isn’t that expensive, but it would be a five-hour commute for them.

  6. Holly Says:

    An agent works FOR YOU. the seller. You need to be comfortable with that person. The first guy sounds like a jerk. Yes, they should point out things that might be an issue, but some of the stuff he pointed out is really stupid. Minor. Most people make changes as soon as they move in, if they aren’t happy with the tile, they will fix it. I have been having my own agent issues here, want to buy a place, but the two men that I have contacted don’t seem to want to work with me. Finally found a woman, and so far, it has been a good experience.

  7. Malcolm R. Campbell Says:

    Our old house is on the market and it seems everyone’s a critic.

  8. Constnce Says:

    The right buyer for your Dad’s House will come along and like it. It is a very nice house.
    The tile floor in the Entry makes it a separate Entry and not part of the Great Room, which makes it what is supposed to be, an Entry.
    Ever watch “House Hunters” on TV? That is all the young people on there do is to tear houses apart when the realtor shows them. They are really “nitpicky”!

  9. Different Tomorrows | Bertram's Blog Says:

    […] are those dang ellipses again. I don’t know what I’m one step away from. Well, the future, of course, but I haven’t a clue […]


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

