Drifting . . .

I’m sitting here mindlessly playing computer solitaire, not thinking much of anything, just letting old sorrows, lost hopes, and unborn possibilities drift around in my mind like flakes in an old fashioned snow globe.

It’s futile to try to sort out the thoughts. There’s no need to dwell on what is gone and what can never be — those are part of my very being, so that even when the thoughts are not recognized, I feel their importance.

snow globeNor is there any need to dwell on what has not yet happened — although those possibilities are still unformed, I feel their portent.

I’m trying not to rush through this strange hiatus between all the endings and a new beginning. So many people are gone from my life, through death, mental illness, and misunderstanding that sometimes I am overwhelmed by the complexity of starting over alone and wish to make immediate decisions and plans to give me a start on the future. But other times, like now, I am content to let the future take care of itself. There may never again be a time where so much is open to me. When I have to start making decisions, the world will narrow with each choice.

If I continue to do my mostly volunteer work for an online company, I will be tied to the computer for longer than I wish, doing work that has long since lost its appeal. If I were to walk away, I will have to embrace one further loss since this “job” has been part of my life for many years. If I were to get a real job to make my financial situation stronger, I won’t be able to take dance classes. Nor will I have time to write (or rather, not write, which is what I so often do). If I continue to take dance classes, I won’t be able to travel, or at least not much.

I am not yet ready for such a narrowing of possiblitilities even if it means embracing my sorrows and lost hopes a bit longer.

And so I drift.

***

Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.” Connect with Pat on Google+. Like Pat on Facebook.

7 Responses to “Drifting . . .”

  1. leesis Says:

    I lived right beside a meandering creek for three years during a time of healing. Daily I would sit by watching it drift by and I learnt. I learnt to let my mind drift, my emotions to drift without clinging to anything particular. Interestingly by accepting the drifting healing was easier. I also took a lesson from the resident platypus who also allowed himself to drift whilst every now and then he’d see something interesting…stop drifting…have a look and if it was something he liked he’d play with it until he let it too drift by. A very peaceful way to be and very contrary to the ‘do do do’ world we live in. xx

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      That sounds wonderful, living by a creek. I much prefer gentler water such as streams, creeks, and ponds to the ocean. The ocean seems very ‘do do do.’ I need to find a simpler life than the one we normally lead.

  2. Paula Kaye Says:

    I am learning to drift too….unfortunately (or fortunately) I have two grandkids to think of. So I can’t drift for long.

  3. Malcolm R. Campbell Says:

    Most of us are afraid to drift, and that’s too bad. Glad you are letting the tides carry you wherever they will.

  4. Constance Koch Says:

    I need to try this. My life is so stressful. Other people controlling me. I’m trying to let go. I need some peace.


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

