Writing Outside The Box And The Box Springs

I just watched the most fascinating sex scene ever to be filmed. There was no nudity, no touching, no erotic talk, nothing that resembles any sex act we have ever seen or experienced (unless, of course, I’m even more naïve than I imagine), and yet the scene is sensuous and compelling, the characters are intensely and totally involved with each other, connecting on a level most of us can only hope for. And we are left with no doubt that we have seen two people making love in a mutually fulfilling way.

knifeThe movie? The Girl on the Bridge, a 1999 French movie shot in black and white and shown to US audiences with subtitles. He is a not-so-lucky knife thrower who lurks around bridges to find his assistants, woman who don’t care whether they live or die. She is a depressed young woman who has never done a single thing right in her life, not even drowning herself.

One day on a bridge, they find each other, and their luck changes.

And so does ours, because oh, my — such a poetic way to spend hot afternoon. (Hot because of the summery weather. What did you think I meant?)

I’m not sure the knife scene holds up as erotic if you haven’t seen the buildup during the earlier part of the movie, but if you’re interested, you can see the scene here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CKqQl3D4AzI

It’s a good reminder that we writers need to be able to write outside the box and the box springs.

***

Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.” Connect with Pat on Google+. Like Pat on Facebook.

 

7 Responses to “Writing Outside The Box And The Box Springs”

  1. LordBeariOfBow Says:

    The French certainly know the art of subtle. Only trouble was the music, I don’t think it fitted in fact I do’t think it was needed. The thud of the knives surficed. I agree about fascinating that it certainly is it surprises me that there has been less than 20thousand views on YouTube

    Well that’s just me

  2. rami ungar the writer Says:

    I’ll admit, it is an erotic scene. I’ve never quite seen anything like it. Then again, the French like to create a different sort of story when they make movies than do their American counterparts. They even care more about directors than they do about actors, which says something. Still, it was interesting. Maybe I’ll try to incorporate something like that into a future novel someday.


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

