A Fowl Day

Today was clear, dry, and hot. The outside temperature reached 100 degrees, which could be why we didn’t have fowl weather on such a fowl day. (Fowl weather, I imagine, is weather that gets the geese flying south for the winter.)

I’m no spring chicken, which is especially apparent on fowl days such as this. I’ve been running around like a . . .

chickenNope, I can’t say it. I’ve never seen a chicken running around with its head cut off, though I suppose the bodies of chickens can last a few seconds without their brain — after all, the expression “hen-brained” must have come from somewhere. Still, whether I use the chicken metaphor or stick to the unfeathered truth, I have been rather busy today, running seemingly unending errands, dealing with visitors and various hospice workers, fighting an invasion of ants.

When I was out, I stopped to see a small camper for rent, a refinished 1955 Field and Stream 14-foot trailer. I’m not actually looking for something like that. I’m not sure my car could tow it, don’t particularly want the problem of parking it somewhere, and I’m afraid I’d feel cooped up. (Aha! Another fowl metaphor!) Still, it’s fun thinking about perhaps crisscrossing the roads in a portable roost to see what is on the other side of the country.

As much fun as it has been to use so many fowl metaphors, one I will never use is “henpecked.” I once saw a poor hen-pecked rooster, and oh, what a sad and bloody sight that was.

I hope you have a ducky day today!

***

Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light BringerMore Deaths Than OneA Spark of Heavenly FireandDaughter Am IBertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.” Connect with Pat on Google+. Like Pat on Facebook.

5 Responses to “A Fowl Day”

  1. rami ungar the writer Says:

    Too many bird-themed puns! AAAAAAAAAAH!

  2. Holly Says:

    I have been living in my rig about six weeks now. So far I have escaped the cooped up feeling. I don’t like having to sit inside tho. I am outside as much as possible. When I am in parking lots for the night, I do stay indoors, but at campgrounds, friends yards, I am outside and have a nice little setup. I have been gone long enough for the vacation feeling to be over, and it will be interesting to see what the next range of emotions will be. It has already struck me a couple of times that I don’t have a place to go “home”. I think finding a landing spot is definitely on my list, just not sure where.

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      Sounds like you’re settling into a sort of routine. I imagine real changes and challenges will come once it sinks in for good that you don’t have a home except the one you take with you. It could be a good thing. Maybe you will end up where you need to be, both emotionally and geographically.

      I still haven’t a clue what I’m going to do. I don’t want a trailer, don’t want a permanent place, don’t want hotels and other “homes for a night.” Not sure what other possibilities there are, but I’m hoping they will appear when I need them.

      Best of luck on your journey and specifically, best of luck at journey’s end.

  3. Coco Ihle Says:

    Pat, I see you’re having a chirpy day!!! Love it!!!


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

