My Chariot Awaits!

I rented a car to take my brother back to Colorado, but he is not here, and a rental car is a terrible thing to waste. So I am taking off for the weekend. Will be going . . . anywhere. North perhaps.

I’m leaving in just a few minutes, but I know many of you are concerned about this situation with my brother, and I didn’t want you to think anything bad happened.

I’ll try to keep in touch, but if not, know that I am free for a few days.

Thank you all for your support during these traumatic years. I hope your weekend will be as wonderful as mine.

***

Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.” Connect with Pat on Google+. Like Pat on Facebook.

Posted in life. Tags: , , . 3 Comments »

3 Responses to “My Chariot Awaits!”

  1. rami ungar the writer Says:

    Have a great time Pat! And don’t let anyone or anything stop you from having this much-needed vacation! Hopefully things will improve when you get back as well.

  2. Phyllis Ring Says:

    Joyous journey! Hurray for you.🙂

  3. leesis Says:

    I’ve been wondering what to say lately Pat…so said nothing🙂.

    Opening your post today it was such a relief to read you are, by this time, away from your house of horrors.

    I’m so sorry things are so shitty for you right now. Frankly your dad, and sister sound worse to me than your brother who is so obviously damaged. Their expectations of you seem bizarre to me. Having said that I, yet again, feel such admiration for your willingness to try, to support, to not enter into crap behavior when they do which must be so tempting some days

    I love that you don’t dump your buggered up brother despite the reality that maybe one day for your own well-being you might have to. I love that you are there to care for your father despite his personality traits🙂. There are too many abandoned elderly because their adult kids are busy “getting on with their own lives”

    But I hate the fact that you are stuck in this situation at this time, after having gone through such a hard time with losing Jeff.

    So my friend enjoy your time away and may I suggest if you read this on your trip, instead of thinking of your families problems, spend time thinking how you can strengthen yourself day to day…self-nurture stuff…stuff that gives you both emotional release of the constant frustrations and laughter…every single day. It will make the yucky times easier to deal with.

    with love
    Leesa


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

