Pacific Crest or Pacific Coast

When I first blogged about going on an epic adventure, I mentioned the Pacific Crest Trail, but I have since discounted the PCT for two reasons. The first reason is silly, but still real. Whenever I’ve mentioned the PCT, people invariable tell me about Cheryl Strayed, and I want my own adventure, not a poor imitation of someone else’s. If I really wanted to hike the PCT, being forever overshadowed might not be a consideration, but the truth is, the PCT isn’t a walk in the park, and I like walks in the park. Or any sort of walk. What I’ve recently discovered is that I’m not fond of hiking.

WheLow tiden you walk, you are light and free, just swinging along, your body in perfect rhythm with its surroundings.

When you hike, you have to pick your way along often uneven terrain, sometimes on narrow trails that are eroded in spots, sometimes on logs that pass for bridges over shallow ravines or waterways. That would be bad enough, but generally you are also carrying a heavy pack (even a light pack — under twenty pounds — is heavy for one who is used to walking unencumbered). When you thru-hike the PCT, you have weather considerations and seasonal changes, such as winter, so you are on a stringent schedule. An ice axe is recommended and in many areas a bear canister is required. (An ice axe is to help you self-arrest if you start sliding down a snow-packed slope, which presupposes you have the strength to hang on, which I don’t. A bear canister is for protecting your food in bear country.) And this year, so I have heard, PCT hikers have been chased by killer bees and are having to deal with detours due to certain parts of the trail being burned out. Eek. So not my idea of a fun outing!

What I’m considering instead is walking along the coastline. Although there is no Pacific coast trail, all three Pacific states are in the process of creating one, mostly by connecting existing multiuse trails, bike paths, and boardwalks. Although the coast walk is partly urban, it also incorporates wilderness and desolate areas. And one 50-mile stretch goes along the shoulder of a highway. I suppose in a way a coastal walk would be even worse than hiking the PCT because not only would you have the possibility of meeting untamed creatures of the wild, you’d also risk meeting untamed creatures of the city, such as feral dogs and brutal humans. (Sounds to me as if I need to add pepper spray to my list of necessities.)

Walking such a variety of terrains is different from hiking in the wilderness. In the wilderness, making a pitstop is as easy as stepping behind the nearest bush, but such freedom does not exist on public beaches. In the wilderness, you can pitch a tent almost anywhere there is room, but on the coast you’re more apt to find yourself stealth camping — camping in undeveloped areas — if there’s no official campsite. However, there is a lot more activity along the coast than the crest, especially in beach areas, so food and water might be more accessible.

By definition, a coast walk includes water. Not potable water, but salt water, and a salt water soak is good for aching feet.

So when/if it comes to a choice between coast or crest, I’ll opt for coast.

***

Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.” Connect with Pat on Google+. Like Pat on Facebook.

8 Responses to “Pacific Crest or Pacific Coast”

  1. Wanda Says:

    Perhaps you can plan your walk so you can avoid the more desolate stretches of beach, the areas with no much in the way of actual access to the coast line and spread some down time in relative comfort of a motel once in a while and take advantage of coast line parks for most of your camping out under the stars needs. Maybe picking up bus connections, picking up boxes at post offices for fresh clothing, etc. Not to mention hitting up some friends for a night or two of home cooking and free room. Ahem, yes that would be me. There are some wonderful walks from here north. Oregon is pretty advanced in the way of hiking trails and camp grounds.😀

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      Wanda, you are on my list! I would not even consider passing you by. The other things you suggested are good ideas, too. I do plan to stay in motels when cheap and available. I doubt I’ll feel like lugging a computer along, and I will need to update my blog occasionally. You’re also right about taking buses occasionally, especially if the weather turns bad. After all, this is supposed to be a walk, not some kind of survivalist prank.

  2. mickeyhoffman Says:

    I’ve been to many gorgeous places, but…I…hate…hiking. What you say about uneven ground is so very true. It’s just exhausting, at least it is to me. Oh, I have been dragged to the Canadian Rockies, the Sierras (parts of the PCT) and vicinity, and many other gorgeous spots and although I appreciate the beauty, I just don’t have the physical strength to enjoy the excursions. I’ve wanted to see Patagonia, but could I really do it? I was in my mid twenties before I spent the night “outdoors” and found it fairly scary. I should be scared in a big city, but it’s what I’m used to. I would rather walk from one end of Manhattan to the other end.

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      Hiking always sounded so romantic. I never realized how much I hate hiking until I actually started hiking. I don’t like even wearing a light pack, so backpacking would be a true nightmare. Hiking and heavy packs. Yikes. If all I want to do is see beautiful scenery, I can drive there. I don’t know how far I will get walking. I have a hunch when walking turns to hiking, I’ll turn to other means of transportation.

  3. Midnight, Meteors, and Mockingbirds | Bertram's Blog Says:

    […] noise level surprised me, making me wonder about the feasibility of taking some sort of epic walk. I’d stay in hotels when possible since I’m not much of a wilderness sort, but there would be […]

  4. Planning Epic Transcendental and Mystical Journeys | Bertram's Blog Says:

    […] journeys. But here is an update for those of you who have expressed concern about my idea of walking up the Pacific Coast to […]

  5. An Epic Adventure | Bertram's Blog Says:

    […] couple of years, I’ve been blogging about my yearning for an epic adventure. I’ve talked about walking up the Pacific coast, thru walking the Pacific Crest Trail, getting a small camper to roam the country and visit all my […]

  6. Life Happens | Bertram's Blog Says:

    […] I’m beginning to get a bit nervous about discussing my impending future because the uncertainty of my life bothers people — bothers them a lot — and I don’t like putting them in such a position. Oddly, the uncertainty doesn’t really bother me all that much. In fact, I am more fearful of settling into my solitariness and stagnating than I am of uncertainty, which keeps me dreaming of impossible adventures. […]


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

