Call for Submissions

rangelSecond Wind Publishing is accepting short stories, essays and poetry for its upcoming anthology, Wind Through an Open Door.

All submissions should deal with the question: what happens to us when we pass from this life? Remembrances of lost loved ones, personal experiences, profound recognitions of the afterlife (or its absence)—regardless of religious persuasion—are all welcome.

There is no cost to submit an entry. There is a maximum of 7000 words for essays or short stories. All entries must be submitted no later than June 10, 2014. Those whose work is included in the anthology will receive two contributor copies. Additional copies will be available for purchase, with contributors receiving a 60% discount. Submissions and questions should be sent to mike@secondwindpublishing.com. Be sure to use “Wind Through an Open Door submission” in the subject line.

Best of luck to everyone!

16 Responses to “Call for Submissions”

  1. beccaswope Says:

    Deadline is MARCH 10??? It’s May 1….

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      That’s what I get for posting second hand information. The date is June 10.

      • Cathy Gingrich Says:

        Hi Pat,
        I have similar problems myself…verify, verify, verify…that’s the advice I get from my son-in-law… Google it..or, did you reboot? Some things never change, but I’ve been reading your posts and glad to know you are feeling good. I’m still at work on DP Chronicles. Cathy Gingrich

        • Pat Bertram Says:

          Yes, I’m doing well, Cathy. Thank you! I hope you are, too.

          Best of luck with your books!

          • Cathy Gingrich Says:

            Hi Pat, I have tried going thru mike@secondwindpublishing.com in order to submit a short story for the current contest, “Wind Through an Open Door”. His email takes me to several options, the most promising one re current contests, but they are for 2011, 2012, etc. I hope you are willing to lead me through this technical morass so I can make the deadline, June 10. Your truely befuddled friend. Cathy

  2. rami ungar the writer Says:

    I’m interested. I’ll definitely contact this nike guy.

  3. ROD MARSDEN Says:

    I have already made inquiries but thank anyway.

  4. Sonia Lal Says:

    I might have something.

  5. Juliet Waldron Says:

    Did you mean May?

  6. ROD MARSDEN Says:

    Sent a story some time ago. Not sure if I’m in or out.


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

