Scheduled Obsolescence

I’ve grown up with planned obsolescence, so that idea is nothing new to me, but scheduled obsolescence took me by surprise.

There are various types of planned obsolescence. Psychological obsolescence is common in the fashion and automotive industries. Each year, the companies create new designs to make last year’s designs psychologically less appealing, though the product itself is still usable. Physical obsolescence is prevalent in other manufacturing fields, where the designers decide how long a product should last and then only use materials geared to last that long. (In a way this makes sense — if a vegetable grater, for example, goes dull after a year or two, there’s no real reason to make the thing out of expensive materials that will last long after the product has outlived any usefulness.) Often, manufacturers even go so far as to use inferior materials that will make the product wear out faster and speed up replacement time.

Some people argue that planned obsolescence encourages competition and improvement while others claim it increases waste. I don’t believe in waste, though I do understand the need to keep the economy going — if everyone was like me, the economy would have ground to a halt years ago. I mean, how many people out there bought a car forty-two years ago and are still driving it as their one and only source of vehicular transportation? (If you guessed the car is a Volkswagen you’re correct. Back then, Volkswagen bragged about not believing in planned obsolescence, which has worked in my favor.) And then there’s my poor hair dryer that died just this morning — it was only twenty-five years old! If you’re smart (or thrifty) you can often bypass planned obsolescence by doing such things as unplugging lamps and other electrical equipment rather than using the cheaply-made and soon-to-break on/off switches. As for fashion — well, I couldn’t even begin to tell you what was in fashion, either today or twenty years ago.

In some cases, planned obsolescence worked in my favor. Planned obsolescence (thank heavens for spell check! I have mistyped the word obsolescence every single time I’ve used it!) helps keep products cheap. When my camera died after only a couple of years (oddly, the screen burned out right after I took what turned out to be the last photo of my now deceased life mate/soul mate), it would have cost more to repair the camera than to replace it. And when that second camera died in a tragic fall shortly after purchase, I was able to get a replacement that works better than either of the others.

But I’m getting off track. As I said, I’m used to planned obsolescence, but last night I came up against scheduled obsolescence. The end of support for Windows XP made me interested in when support for Vista, my current operating system, will end. I discovered that the end had been scheduled for April 10, 2012, but that they extended it to April 10, 2017. Whew! I still have three years! By then, of course, my computer will be so outdated and so slow I will probably be glad to update my whole system. Or maybe technology will have changed out of all recognition making me want to hang on to this poor machine until its last byte. If nothing else, I could use it as a word processor, unconnected to the internet. That way any vulnerabilities won’t be a problem.

Still, it does seem strange to have the exact date when my operating system is scheduled to become obsolete.

***

Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.” Connect with Pat on Google+. Like Pat on Facebook.

5 Responses to “Scheduled Obsolescence”

  1. ROD MARSDEN Says:

    To my way of thinking the object of companies like Windows is to make money. Providing a service to customers comes secondary to that. Old product no matter how well made can only bring in so much money. New products can generate much more cash. Hence built in obsolescence is pretty good from a Windows point of view. There’s the story that Windows even has problems in software they know about that will be solved when the next version comes out. These problems of course could be solved before the latest version came out but it is more profitable to solve them later. Also there’s giving the general public more programming than the general public will ever use. With Vista there’s a lot of stuff I have either never used or only dabbled in when I first got the computer. Yet it is there taking up memory space. Of late in Australia one phone company has been advertising that with their plan you can have a brand new mobile with all the latest bells and whistles every year. Apparently this is a reason to party every year. I need a mobile to ring people up. That’s it. Neither advertisers nor Generation Y can understand this.

  2. Patty Parfait Says:

    Thank you for confirming my belief in planned obsolescence. I told my life mate that was happening with her promotion to supervisor about 3 years ago. Today she has sent in early retirement paperwork under threat of job loss because of incompetence, not following through and other sundry terminology even though she trained many of the other operators at the job she started supervising. She is scared facing a future with only half her income. I’m just learning to live a different life and feel like no help at all.

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      Oh, yes — there is definitely planned obsolescence when it comes to people. If a company retires someone before their scheduled retirement date, they don’t have to pay full retirement. Happens way too often.

  3. Sonia Lal Says:

    I think of it as a way for companies to make money. Not just tech, but textbooks publishers also, since most of the time all a new edition means is the hw questions rearranged. Maybe a few words added to each section.


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

