Happy Astrological New Year’s Eve!

There is a new moon tomorrow, and this new moon in Aries signifies the beginning of the Astrological New Year. Not that I know anything about astrology, but a friend keeps me abreast of the changing sky and how it affects us, and she sent me to Mystic Mamma.

According to Mystic Mamma, we are entering a time of collective rebirth and that “It is time to find and trust our own unique expression, and use our voice, our being, and our vibration to embody the changes and the energies we wish to experience.

ariesCathy Pagano says, “The best thing you can do is stay centered, married to yourself, so you can open up to the energies in a conscious way.”

Dipali Desai says, “This New Moon, suggests to embrace your individual spark and to have the courage to take action in life. Even if you do not know where it leads, the Archetype of the Inner Compassionate Warrior (symbolized by Aries) will help you explore a new way of life or expression. Go forth with gusto as this may just bring delightful surprises you may not expect.”

Divine Harmony says, “This New Moon cycle also takes us into a radical month of shake ups, wake up calls, breakdowns and breakthroughs of massive proportions.

Robert Wilkinson says, “This is a heavily transmutational New Moon, with the ability to ‘raise the natural to the human,’ or see the natural magic in who we are once we drop old emotional sludge or baggage that may not have ever been ours to begin with.”

I’ve never seen a correlation to the stars and my life except perhaps in my birth chart — horoscopes sure don’t seem to match up with anything I am going through — but I do like what this new moon supposedly means. New beginnings. Delightful surprises. Change. Embracing our individual spark. Having the courage to take action. Breakthoughs. Seeing our own natural magic.

I especially like the part about dropping emotional sludge that might not ever have been ours to begin with. I have a lot of such sludge, some leftover from childhood, some a legacy of my thirty-four year union with my now deceased life mate/soul mate. I’m sure some is even left over from my own past, with me hanging on to ideas or feelings that no longer pertain.

And most especially, I like the idea of being married to myself. Centering myself. Being true to myself. Finding harmony within myself. Connecting with a deeper aspect of myself. (To me this “marriage” is metaphorical, but I googled “marrying yourself” and there were one heck of a lot of hits. Apparently, people actually marry themselves, with a ceremony and everything else that goes along with marriage.)

Whatever this new lunar month brings, whatever the astrological new year signifies, the truth is, I will do what I always do — embrace life to the fullest and see what happens.

***

Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.” Connect with Pat on Google+. Like Pat on Facebook.

3 Responses to “Happy Astrological New Year’s Eve!”

  1. rami ungar the writer Says:

    Pat, who are those people, how do you find them, and why haven’t I heard of them before?


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

