Upgrading to a Smartphone

My poor old dumb phone finally decided it had enough of being at my peck and call, and it quit working. Although I have never wanted a smartphone, that’s what I ended up with, and oh, my. I thought the internet consumed time, but that phone could pretty much eat up my days if I wanted it to.

For starters, it took a long time to find my way around and get it the way I wanted. It’s not that the actions were complicated, but in many cases, it was hard to find the instructions.

One of the things I didn’t like was that all texts ended up in the inbox of one of my online email accounts. Yikes. It wasn’t bad yesterday when I had only a couple of texts, but some family members cphoneorrespond with me strictly via text, and I had visions of spending hours deleting such items from my inbox. Also, all contacts from certain email accounts ended up as contacts on my phone, and most of those people I’m not close to. I certainly don’t want to be carrying them with me wherever I go.

And then there was Facebook. I downloaded the app, got it all set up, even downloaded the app for Facebook pages, then went to add something on the calendar on my phone and found it flooded with events and birthdays from people on FB I don’t even know. I found a way to empty the calendar, but it immediately filled up again. It wouldn’t be a problem since I have never used ecalendars (I’m not always on the computer when I need to check my schedule), but I thought I’d try the one on the phone. I found no way to unsync all the FB info, so when it turned out to be a choice between FB or the calendar, I chose the calendar. So I uninstalled the FB app. If you’re one of my FB contacts, you won’t be inundated with silly status updates. Aren’t you glad?

I found a cool calculator that works like its unvirtual counterpart, and a colorful game — Blendoku. I have always loved the way colors shade and fade into each other, so the game is a natural for me.

I’m sure there are hundreds of other apps that I would find fascinating — for example, I saw an app that supposedly identifies stars and such in the night sky — but for now, I’m limiting myself. The whole thrust of my current life is to live the real world, not the electronic one (though apparently, the so-called real world is also just a series of electrons connecting us one to another).

Still, I will be using the phone for more than making calls. I just wanted to let you know in advance that any errors in my posts and emails are due to the phone. I, of course, don’t make errors.🙂

***

Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.” Follow Pat on Google+. Like Pat on Facebook.

8 Responses to “Upgrading to a Smartphone”

  1. Morguie Says:

    I’ll happily remain with my ‘dumb phone’ thanks very much!

  2. Paula Kaye Says:

    This brought a good laugh. I remember my first smart phone. I couldn’t figure out why they called them ‘smart’ when I couldn’t figure out how to do anything. Now I love my new Droid Mini

    http://smidgensbitsandsnippets.blogspot.com/

  3. Carol Says:

    You sound a bit like my DH when his cardiologist suggested he should carry a phone with him whenever he went walking… and our dinosaur of a cell phone chose then to die. Our son gave us a spare from his household… not a smart phone, but one with lots of bells and whistles… and DH still complains about its complexities. He just wants to be able to place an ordinary call and figure out how to access voice mail! Personally, I think a smart phone could be fun, but since I know I’m already addicted to my laptop, it would probably end up being another time waster for me. Enjoy yours.🙂

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      I’ve been having a lot of fun with the phone. Texting is easy — as I begin typing a word, it shows a whole list of possible words to choose from, which makes it a breeze. And the game I downloaded is interesting and challenging. A good way to spend a few minutes when waiting.

  4. Coco Ihle Says:

    My, you’re a brave gal, Pat! I have so many new gadgets, I just don’t have time to learn how a new phone works, too. So, I still have my dumb phone. I can text with it and take photos, but that’s about it, other than make calls.

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      Actually, once the thing was set up, I use it the same way I use the old one. It makes it easier to do things, is all. And then there is that very addictive game Blendoku . . .


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

