Spring in January

It seems strange that a time when the rest of the country is undergoing what must seem like eternal winter, here in my temporary abode in the high desert, spring has come. Yesterday was a lovely day, clear skies, still air, 80 degrees (just for a few minutes — it quickly dropped back to a frigid 78). Today was a bit cooler with cloudy skies and breezes strong enough to make me go chasing after my hat a few times, but still, the high of 65 was well within spring temperatures.

The forsythia are already blossoming

forsythia

And even a few narcissus are preening themselves in readiness for the glory of the coming days.

narcissus

There is a new moon tonight, ushering in a time of rebirth, so that even if you’re bundled up against freezing temperatures, know that spring will soon be peeking around the corner.

Until then, keep warm, enjoy what moments you can, and try not to be too envious of me in my weather bliss since that’s the only bliss in my life right now. (After ten days of cordiality and even friendliness from my dysfunctional brother, he is back in hyper mode, keeping me awake most of the night and making me as crazy as he is.)

I will use the power of this new moon to break free of the ties of bad relationships, liberate my mind, and hope freedom will follow.

Wishing you an early spring.

***

Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.” Follow Pat on Google+. Like Pat on Facebook.

2 Responses to “Spring in January”

  1. rami ungar the writer Says:

    I wish I was there right now, Pat. I wish I was in that abode and it was warm and comfortable and I didn’t need ten layers to get through the day.

  2. Holly Bonville Says:

    Wishful thinking up this way. We have another blast of sub zero temps on the way. Some as low as 30 below. And before spring, we have mud season…And before that, a few more blizzards…Thanks for the photos, it does give me hope tho.🙂


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

