Falls and Follies

Ever since the death of my life mate/soul mate, I’ve made an effort to do new things, especially things I would not have had an opportunity to experience if he were alive. (It helps me make sense of his being gone. If I continued to do only what we would have done together, I’d feel as if I were wasting his death.) Now I am continuing that effort, not just to honor his death, but to help me survive a stressful family situation. Oh, who am I trying to kid? I just want to have fun!

My two most recent experiences were a trip to Palm Springs

Marilyn Monroe Palm Springs

to see the Palm Springs Follies, a Las Vegas-style production

Follies Marquee

where all the gorgeous showgirls were over 55, some even over 75! We weren’t allowed to take photos during the show, of course, so I hope they don’t mind my using their photo:

newfinale

And then today I went on a hike with the Sierra Club to a lovely riparian area in the middle of the desert. (Riparian means relating to the banks of a natural course of water.) At the base of this looming rock formation

is a lovely grotto, like a natural shower stall, with water cascading down the walls (I’ve been told that when the area isn’t on drought alert, there is so much water, it is very much like a shower, and perhaps the local tribes once used it for such a purpose.)

Arastre Falls

I have other trips planned — I’ve been invited on a walking tour of secret stairways, and I have tickets to Les Ballets Trockadero de Monte Carlo, an all male dance troupe that is supposedly as funny as they are accomplished. I am also planning to plan even more trips, maybe take myself on a date since I’m not having any luck finding anyone on the online dating sites, perhaps even go away for a weekend by myself.  I’ll keep you posted.

***

Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.” Follow Pat on Google+. Like Pat on Facebook.

6 Responses to “Falls and Follies”

  1. Eleanor Anders Says:

    Enjoy this needed time away and catering to yourself, you deserve this!

  2. Mary Friedel-Hunt Says:

    Pat, I am so glad you are doing these things. We do what we do when we are ready and you have chosen some fun and interesting things to lighten the load.

  3. Sue Says:

    This seems a good and healthy approach — taking yourself where you choose to go and be. May all your paths be smooth. May you find pleasant companions along the way. May you return, at the end of the journey, in safety and with a joyful heart.

  4. Carol Wuenschell Says:

    Much nicer than the last one. Take what you can.

  5. Malcolm R. Campbell Says:

    I’ve always wanted to go on a Sierra Club trip. What a great way to get away.


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

