Taking “T” Things With Gratitude

When it comes to life the critical thing is whether you take things for granted or take them with gratitude. ~~ G. K. Chesterton

For the rest of November, I’m going to take with gratitude some of those things I often take for granted — an entire alphabet’s worth! Since today is the twentienth day of this surge of gratitude, I am giving thanks for “T” things.

I am especially grateful for:

Tigers. I’ve never met a tiger outside of a zoo, and I’m not sure I’d ever want to meet one, but I’m grateful there are such creatures roaming free adding a bit of wildness to our increasingly tame world.

numbersTomorrow. Of all the things we take for granted, “tomorrow” is probably the one we most take for granted until something — a severe illness or the death of a loved one — reminds us that our tomorrows are gifts. One of the great joys in life is putting off until tomorrow what we should have or could have done today. And one of the great comforts in life is knowing that we can always try again tomorrow what we failed at today. So I will take with gratitude all my tomorrows.

Temperature control. Oh, the miracle of being able to change the inside temperature with the touch of a button or the flick of a switch! We take such luxury for granted (until the bill comes, that is) but it’s a great blessing to be warm on a cold day or cool on a hot day, and for this, I am grateful.

Taste. Considering that Thanksgiving feasting is only a few days away, I am especially grateful for the ability to taste. So what if I am going the easy way, simply fixing boxed stuffing, heating up rotisserie chicken, using bottled gravy, and canned cranberries. (There is no way I’m going to cook a full dinner for a 97-year-old man who would just as soon drink Ensure.) And anyway, the yams will be freshly baked. (No marshmallows or maple syrup, thank you very much.)

Thank you. “Thank you” seems to be disappearing from the world, especially the shopping world, replaced by a casual “there you go.” Eek. I never take “thank you” for granted, but I take all my “thank you”s with gratitude.

Toes. Without toes, we would have no balance, no grace. Even though my balance is poor and my grace often lacking, it’s not the fault of my toes, for which I am grateful.

So, what “T” things are you taking for gratitude today?

***

See also:
Taking “A” Things With Gratitude, Taking “B” Things With Gratitude, Taking “C” Things With Gratitude,Taking “D” Things With Gratitude, Taking “E” Things With Gratitude, Taking “F” Things With Gratitude, Taking “G” Things With Gratitude, Taking “H” Things With Gratitude, Taking “I” Things With Gratitude, Taking “J” Things With Gratitude,Taking “K” Things With Gratitude, Taking “L” Things With Gratitude, Taking “M” Things With Gratitude, Taking “N” Things With Gratitude, Taking “O” Things With Gratitude, Taking “P” Things With Gratitude, Taking “Q” Things With Gratitude, Taking “R” Things With Gratitude, Taking “S” Things With Gratitude

***

Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.” Connect with Pat on Google+. Like Pat on Facebook.

2 Responses to “Taking “T” Things With Gratitude”

  1. rami ungar the writer Says:

    I like those, especially the tigers one (my favorite animal). I also enjoy TV, a constant source of inspiration…or a way to stave off boredom.

  2. KAYIGI Robert Says:

    i really appreciate the alphabetic meaning


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

