Taking “N” Things With Gratitude

When it comes to life the critical thing is whether you take things for granted or take them with gratitude. ~~ G. K. Chesterton

For the rest of November, I’m going to take for gratitude some of those things I often take for granted — an entire alphabet’s worth! Since today is the fourteenth day of this surge of gratitude, I am giving thanks for “N” things.

I am especially grateful for:

Nice. Nice is one of those words that we all use, though we tend to think it’s a bit weak and insipid. I like “nice,” though. I like nice people, nice things, nice days. Things don’t always have to be spectacular, nice is often good enough and comfortable besides. So today I will be grateful for all the nice things in my life.

Night. This is the time of year I used to unhappily call the “creeping darkness,” when the nights get progressively desert sunsetlonger. And yet, without night, we’d be left with unremitting sun, no moon and stars, a life that would be glaringly the same day after day after day. I won’t be taking night for granted tonight (especially since I hope to be out walking by the light of the mostly-full moon) but will take it for gratitude.

Nonconformity. We take for granted that we can be who we want without having to conform to strict codes of dress or ways of thinking, yet this was not always so. Today I will take with gratitude the nonconformity, the individualism in my life.

Numbers. We take numbers for granted, but what would we do without them? How would we count or account? We’d live in a world of simplicity, of course, where the only counting would be the number of fingers we could hold up. (Though, of course, we wouldn’t have a name for that number!) So today I will be grateful for numbers.

Nutrition. Even in a culture where so many of our foods are lacking in nutrition (and hence can’t really be called food) there are nutritious foods to eat. We take for granted that our grocery stores will always be stocked with nutritious foods, though there could come a time when all our foods are devoid of nutrition. So, until then, I will be grateful for nutrition.

So, what “N” things are you taking for gratitude today?

***

See also:
Taking “A” Things With Gratitude, Taking “B” Things With Gratitude, Taking “C” Things With Gratitude,Taking “D” Things With Gratitude, Taking “E” Things With Gratitude, Taking “F” Things With Gratitude, Taking “G” Things With Gratitude, Taking “H” Things With Gratitude, Taking “I” Things With Gratitude, Taking “J” Things With Gratitude,Taking “K” Things With Gratitude, Taking “L” Things With Gratitude, Taking “M” Things With Gratitude

***

Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.” Connect with Pat on Google+. Like Pat on Facebook.

2 Responses to “Taking “N” Things With Gratitude”

  1. rami ungar the writer Says:

    I like the Nice, Night, and Noncomformity ones. I also would like to add in Nuttiness, because you have to be just a bit nutty to even consider creating fictional worlds, and noblesse oblige, which we rarely see these days but it is always wonderful when we see its true spirit.

  2. ROD MARSDEN Says:

    It took me a very long time to be grateful for numbers. Growing up I had no interest in math at all. Then I saw it as an anchor around my neck holding me down. Where I grew up no teacher gave much of a damn if you were good at History or English. If you were poor at math you were not supposed to have much of a future.

    Nowadays I am a great deal better with numbers. I not only see the practical side of being so but also the creative side. Strangely enough, this has a lot to do with my interest in History and art. The television show NUMBERS I think is brilliant and no doubt has helped a lot of kids enjoy rather than resent math.


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

