Taking “E” Things With Gratitude

When it comes to life the critical thing is whether you take things for granted or take them with gratitude. ~~ G. K. Chesterton

For the rest of November, I’m going to take for gratitude some of those things I often take for granted — an entire alphabet’s worth! Since today is the fifth day of this surge of gratitude, I am giving thanks for “E” things.

I am especially grateful for:

Ears. Ears to hear music, laughter, the voices of loved ones. Earlobes from which to dangle beautiful earrings.

Energy. Even when we feel as if we have no energy, we have enough energy to keep our bodies working. And the days when we do feel as if we have energy to spare — what a joy! And despite all the problems that the various sources of energy to keep our houses and cities alive, we still do have energy enough to drive to where we need to go, to warm our homes in the winter and cool them in the summer, energy enough to light the darkness. So, today I will not take energy for granted, but will give thanks for all the energy that comes my way.

Entertainment and enjoyment. We have come a long way from the days when weS humans had to provide our own entertainment, whether telling stories around a community fire, dancing in a neighbor’s barn, or playing musical instruments in a parlor. Now we have instant entertainment, ready for our enjoyment at any time.

Eyes. Eyes to see light and beautiful sites, to see smiling faces, to read print on a page or a reading device.

Eyeglasses. I am especially grateful for eyeglasses, though I tend to take them for granted since they have been perched on my nose (or rather sliding down my nose) since I was ten. Without eyeglasses, I see lights as sparkling gems with halos of brightness, but they are about the only thing I can see better without glasses, so I today I will take my eyeglasses with so very much gratitude.

So, what “E” things are you taking for gratitude today?

***

See also:
Taking “A” Things With Gratitude, Taking “B” Things With Gratitude, Taking “C” Things With Gratitude,Taking “D” Things With Gratitude

***

Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.” Connect with Pat on Google+. Like Pat on Facebook.

4 Responses to “Taking “E” Things With Gratitude”

  1. ROD MARSDEN Says:

    The last time I went to a barn dance was in college in the ’80s at Bathurst. Now Bathurst in NSW is real sheep shearing country. There was also once gold in them there hills but that was some time ago. Yes, the dance was fun. Actually American folk dances are related in some ways to Irish jigs and Scottish turns as well as Saxon bits of business. When you read Dickens’ A Christmas Carol (A favorite of mine) you get the impression that the way the English celebrated Christmas with dances and good food in his day was not that far removed from the traditions developed in the USA. Also not far from the traditions developed in Australia.

    I would put down E for exploration. I grew up with Star Trek and Doctor Who. Exploring new worlds of the imagination in books and television has always been a treat. Going somewhere you have never been before whether in your own country or somewhere else can keep you young and full of wonder. Doing something you have never done before can also give you memories to share. I can still remember my first trip in a Tiger Moth biplane. Now that was something. Probably the reason I’m still fascinated by early flight.

    My take at any rate. I see every new piece of writing I venture into as a new way of exploring myself and my world. Maybe that is why I keep on writing.

  2. rami ungar the writer Says:

    A lot of the ones you mentioned, plus electricity, which makes things so much easier for me some days.

  3. mickeyhoffman Says:

    There’s Experience, which hopefully makes me wiser.


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

