Season’s Creepings — A Halloween Story in Miniature

A drabble is a short story of exactly one hundred words with a beginning, a middle, and an end. I have been experimenting with this story form as a way of improving my writing, trying to get as strong an image as possible in just a few words. Here is a miniature story for Halloween:

       Cuddling her baby, Cassie went to answer the door.

       Anna, eyes bright beneath hooded lids, smiled at her. “I came to see my newest neighbor.” She bent forward and peered into the baby’s face. “Oooh, he’s so sweet I could just eat him up.” She held out her arms. “May I?”

       Pride welled up in Cassie’s chest. “Sure.”

       With a sudden sinuous motion, Anna took the baby, popped him in her mouth, and swallowed him whole.

       Unable even to scream, Cassie stared at the bulge in the woman’s midsection.

       “What?” Anna gave her a puzzled look. “You said I could.” 

***

Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.” Connect with Pat on Google+. Like Pat on Facebook.   

10 Responses to “Season’s Creepings — A Halloween Story in Miniature”

  1. rami ungar the writer Says:

    Now that is funny! I can’t decide if that’s dark or silly humor with a Halloween theme, but that’s still pretty funny. Season’s creepings, Pat!

  2. Carol Wuenschell Says:

    Very clever! And it does take skill to work in such a constrained space.

  3. Steve Lakey Says:

    These people who take everything so literally! A twist I wasn’t expecting.

  4. Mike Pettit Says:

    I love it. What a great story but also an excellent writing exercise I’m going to give it a try.
    P.S. the shortest story ever written was by Hemmingway
    “For Sale.
    Baby Shoes.
    Never used.”

  5. ellisv Says:

    Funny! Very clever little story, Pat.
    Mike, I love the Hemingway story too.

  6. Polly Iyer Says:

    Loved it, Pat. Funny, dark Halloween story. I doubt I could do anything in 100 words, but it’s a great exercise.

  7. Joe Jenkins Says:

    That was funny, though maybe that’s just my morbid mind🙂


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

