Help! I Need a Guest Blog Topic

I’ve been invited to write a guest blog for UniteWomen.org. This is a huge honor since the Facebook group alone has more than 80,000 fans, so of course I said yes. To be honest, though, I would have said yes even if they honly 800 “likes” — I’m a big fan of the woman who asked me, and I appreciate the work she does to help empower women.

Oddly, I’ve never felt disempowered as a women, perhaps because I seldom define myself by gender, religion, nationality, age, or any other consideration. I am simply . . . a being in flux. I have felt powerless at times, but not because of being a woman. The powerlessness came from being in situations greater than my abilities. Sometimes I developed the necessary abilities, other times I simply endured. Either way, somehow I moved beyond the powerlessness and here I am — still strong, still developing my abilities, still learning to empower myself.

(Grief was one of those situations where I felt powerless, but I embraced the experience and endured.)

I have a third way of getting through situations greater than my abilities, such as my current inability to decide on a blog topic — I ask my blog readers for their input.

The woman suggested several topics for the guest blog:

  • Anything relating to women’s rights, gender equality, your identity as a woman (in and/or out of the romantic partnership).
  • Re-establishing your identity as a woman after the loss of your partner.
  • Lessons learned — anything that would empower or inspire other women.
  • How writing can be very healing and that you would recommend it to anyone who has gone through trauma.
  • How female friends supported you through grief.
  • Whatever you want to say to 80,000 women who are struggling for equality.

She also suggested a post about women judging and criticizing other women, like those who told me to “get over it” when I was grieving, but I don’t want to do that one. Sounds too antithetical for the blog.

Do any of these topics strike you as being more interesting than the others? Or is there another topic besides those listed that I should consider doing?

***

Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.” Follow Pat on Google+. Like Pat on Facebook.

15 Responses to “Help! I Need a Guest Blog Topic”

  1. rami ungar the writer Says:

    How about you write about some of your work experiences in life? Or maybe you can talk about women’s portrayals in popular fiction. Or maybe how about women authors taking on male pseudonyms in order to sell more books, despite the fact that women were the ones who pioneered the novel’s form?

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      It is interesting that despite women buying the vast majority of books, that being male or perceived as male still sells books. It’s also strange that women writing romances mostly have to stick to category romance, but men are allowed to bend the genre. I’d have to do some research, but it could be an interesting topic.

  2. Autumn Larrow Says:

    Personally, I would like to see one on lessons learned, leaning towards over coming an epic battle either with self or world. I love reading how others over came and owned similar misfortunes as I have. Or How Writing can be very healing, because the truth of that is something I experience every day. Mixing the two, showing us how writing helped you learn and heal, would be amazing I think.

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      Very good topic. Not an easy one, though, since I’ll have to figure out what, if anything, I learned. I’ll think about this while I’m out walking in the morning and see what I come up with.

      Thank you!

  3. ROD MARSDEN Says:

    I don’t know if female authors have of late taken on male pseudonyms to sell more books or to even get published in the first place. Ursula Le Guin was asked to change her name to something more masculine because she was writing science fiction. But that was back in the late ’50s and early ’60s. I think she paved the way for female science fiction writers to be taken seriously. The other examples I can think of where women have taken on male guises in order to be read date back to the 19th Century. I can’t think of any modern examples where someone thought a male name for an author might be better than a female one. Maybe it says something about readers, both male and female, and female authors that you can use your own name when you write and you’re probably better off doing so, too.

    Writing is a hard game no matter what your sex might be. I think getting that across would be important. I don’t really see any disadvantages nowadays in someone being a woman and a writer. Hell, the top selling writer of today in Britain if not the world, the author of the Harry Potter books, happens to be female and a mother to boot.

  4. SouthernGal Says:

    I think you should write something that has not been addressed significantly in the media. Now coming up with such a topic is not easy, but you are a talented writer from what I see. Go for it!

  5. leesis Says:

    Personally I think you should write about what you have written above. About what it’s like to be the person you are, a woman who hasn’t experienced disempowerment due to the sex category, but instead has been a woman dealing with what life has thrown you in such a way that you are a great role model to others.

  6. Holly Bonville Says:

    How about the compassion of strangers. Going through what we have gone through and the support system that we have built with people we have never met. I know I never would have gotten through this without all my new online friends whom I will probably never meet in person. And the lack of compassion by the people that are actually in our lives.

  7. mickeyhoffman Says:

    What strikes me about the world is how few nations are run by women and often I wonder what the difference would be… I hear that women don’t even try for some jobs like being surgeons because they want to have kids. So do women just limit themselves or are we limited by biology or are we just screwed up in our thinking because of social norms?

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      Great topic, but I couldn’t even begin to tackle it. Well, I could begin, but it would be merely guess work. I’d like to think that women are too smart to get involved in some jobs. But then there are those dang hormones. They are so strong, it’s hard to believe that they don’t have an affect. After all, the cliche of romance novels — a woman who eschews love for a career and then along comes some guy and she’s ready to change her whole life to suit him — has a lot of validity. Hormones trump logic any day. They are probably older and more powerful than higher facilities.

  8. Mike Croghan Says:

    Hello, Pat. I think you’ll find good grist for a blog in the blog you wrote! Some points you made there are great ones. With some expansion, they’ll get even better. For me, the comments about you just being you – a woman – has LOTS of merit in a discussion about empowering women.


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

