Live Like It’s Heaven On Earth

I came across this saying earlier today (apparently it was written by William Watson Purkey, but now is in the public domain. The word art is mine, however). It caught my attention because I’ve been struggling to figure out how to live now that I am uncoupled due to the death of my life mate/soul mate.

LIve like it's heaven on earth

Most of this saying doesn’t pertain to me. Occasionally, I dance around the living room by myself, a sort of dance therapy, as a way of helping me feel lighter in spirit. And a couple of weeks ago I danced to the light of the moon. (It seemed appropriate at the time.)

But I never sing, seldom even listen to music except during my brief stints of dance therapy, and at the moment, I am fresh out of people to love. Well, family and friends, of course, but no one special to plan a future with. Perhaps someday
. . . or not. Life gives, and life takes away, and I am learning to deal with that.

I don’t believe in heaven, either, especially not the harp and clouds sort of patriarchal afterlife so often touted by religions, but something about that last sentence caught my imagination. Live like it’s heaven on earth. So what does that mean to me? Live with abandonment, saving nothing for another life. Live joyfully. Live.

I have no idea how to do that, but it seems a good basis for planning a new life.

Besides, if life and death are simply different facets of being, then this is heaven on earth even though it so often feels like hell.

***

Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.” Follow Pat on Google+. Like Pat on Facebook.

8 Responses to “Live Like It’s Heaven On Earth”

  1. shadowoperator Says:

    This is twice in the same week that you’ve given me something to think about (and in this case, to feel uplifted and rejoice about). I really like the saying in your word art, and am trying to take it to heart. Actually, already today after having been stalled on a novel for quite a long time now due to trying to force a plot device that simply wasn’t working, I simply contradicted myself and made it believable (I hope), and now I’ve thought out the entire novel to the end, except for a few details. And I feel much, much, better, even though I’m currently in love with someone who may or may not love me back and who may or may not be able to let me know about it, and even though that has been monopolizing my attention for weeks now and making me miserable. Just getting back in touch with some friends on the Internet whom I used to blog with all the time also happened in the last few days (I don’t know your site as well, but I used to respond to what you said about grief sometimes, though I was too much sunk into my own to feel comfortable sharing). So, the world is coming up roses for right now (though I keep in mind the nostrum in “Uncle John’s Band” by the Grateful Dead–“When life looks like Easy Street there is danger at your door.”) At least for the time being, your saying fits me entirely, and I just wanted to share a little joy too (I hope it wasn’t too much info!).

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      Never too much information! Good to know that, at least temporarily, you are finding a bit of joy in your life. (Odd how love so often brings as much misery as it does joy.) Good to know that you’re back writing. A final line to the above quote is (And speak from the heart to be heard.) That fits both with your writing and your comment.

      Yes, I remember you from when you used to stop by. I always enjoyed your comments, and often you gave me something to think about. (So we’re even!)

  2. rami ungar the writer Says:

    Reminds me of that one song by Belinda Carlisle. “Ooh baby do you know what that’s worth? Ooh heaven is a place on Earth.” Always wondered what a parody of it by a demon would sound like.

  3. 1writeplace Says:

    Pat,
    You always give me food for thought. Thank you.
    I’m sending you the Liebster Award that means “dearest”, but it is really just to get us meeting new bloggers and learning more about each other. Just ignore it if you are not up to it. The badge probably will have to be copy and pasted from my site—that’s what I had to do to get it from another friend…

  4. Renee Rook Says:

    All of these actions and how to do them, have to do with living without fear, worry, disbelief and ultimately contentment. in other words we are to have courage, security, faith, and trust. When we learn to live by these qualities then we experience peace- ultimately heaven on earth. So I have described what it is like to live like heaven is on earth. How to do it is much harder and is a life long process. I hope that you will find peace that passes all understanding!

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      Yes! You make very good points. I am trying to have courage, the security of living with uncertainty, trust that I am who I am supposed to be. I too hope I find peace that passes all understanding. Wishing the same for you.


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

