Wishing You Peace on Mother’s Day

For many people in the United States, Mother’s Day is a time of family get-togethers, joyful memories, and gifts honoring their mothers.

But for many people, women especially, this is a day of pain. Women who wanted children but were never so blessed. Mothers who lost children to death or despair. Mothers with missing children. Adoptees who never knew their birth mothers. People who are still grieving the death of their mothers.

To everyone who is silently suffering on this day, I wish you peace.

***

Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.” Follow Pat on Google+. Like Pat on Facebook.

6 Responses to “Wishing You Peace on Mother’s Day”

  1. rami ungar the writer Says:

    That’s beautiful, Pat. I’m sure they appreciate it.

  2. cluculzwriter Says:

    Thank you, Pat. That is very thoughtful. But that’s who you are.

  3. Carol Wuenschell Says:

    Your very kind wish comes closer to the original meaning of Mothers’ Day. It originated as an anti-war observance. The idea was that, since so many mothers lost their sons to war, ending war was something that should be promoted out of respect for and kindness towards mothers. Over time the day morphed into something more politically acceptable, not to mention more lucrative for retailers.

  4. Malene Says:

    Thank you, Pat. I sang a concert yesterday together with my own and two other choirs. One of those two choirs had “Unchained Melody” on their repertoire. It took me completely by surprise and I bawled my way through it. I miss my mate so terribly!,Afterwards,I realized also, though, that being unable to rein myself in also had to do with just how conflicted I feel about Mother’s Day – It is indeed a day of pain for many of us. So, again, and as always, thank you for giving these things a voice.

    M.

  5. Ree` Edwards Says:

    What a wonderful way to express your thoughts, Pat. I had the first really and truly peaceful Mother’s Day since my precious son went Home in ’03. What a wonderfully, gloriously, sense of real PEACE. Still miss him? Of course! But the deep, engulfing pain is gone at long last.
    Ree`


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

