Great Blog Resources for Writers

There are some phenomenal blogs and resources for writers that can help you take your writing to a more polished, compelling, or profound level. These are just a few of the links I have collected over the years:

Ageless Wisdom & The Hero’s Journey lists the mythic and archetypal principles embedded in the structure of stories, along with the twelve stages of the hero’s journey. You don’t have to write fantasy to use such mythic elements. My contemporary novel, Daughter Am I, was written with these principles in mind.

The Editor’s Blog is the best resource for new writers who wish to learn the basics of writing and the best resource for experienced writers who wish to polish their work into a perfect gem. Whatever you want to know — hooking a reader, dialogue, action, conflict, editing — you will find great advice from freelance fiction editor Beth Hill.

The Bookshelf Muse has various fascinating thesauruses, such as the Emotional Thesaurus to help you show your characters emotions, Physical Attribute Thesaurus, Character Traits Thesaurus, Weather & Earthly Phenomena Thesaurus, Color, Textures and Shapes Thesaurus, Setting Thesaurus, and the Symbolism Thesaurus. (These are listed on the right sidebar.)

Guide to Grammar and Writing takes the mystery out of grammatical issues and English usage

Cliched, Overdone, or Boring Plotlines helps you find out if your brilliant idea really is as really as fantastic as you think it is, or if it is merely a rehash of a story that has been done a hundred times before.

100 Best First Lines from Novels might help you figure out how to write a first line that is every bit as compelling as those listed.

The Food Timeline helps you keep track of what foods your characters might be eating, especially if you write historical fiction.

Book Marketing Floozy is an indexed blog of sixty-five different articles by various writers about book promotion.

***

Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.” Connect with Pat on Google+

6 Responses to “Great Blog Resources for Writers”

  1. rami ungar the writer Says:

    Thanks Pat! I’m sure many people will find this extremely helpful.

  2. Seyi sandra Says:

    Thanks for sharing Pat!

  3. Juliana Says:

    My goodness, I looked at the story wheel and it ocurred to me that this is the pattern of a life well lived. I guess that is what makes a book worth reading…the journey and the resolution of the quest. I read your resource page and wondered if I could actually write a story. I think it would be a very fulfilling thing to do. I just wouldn’t know how to start. Then I began thinking about the way my life’s has gone. It’s been a mixture of great fortune, great loss, great joy, and finally the agony. Looking at the the story circle again, I realized that if we’re lucky, our own lives will complete this circle. What an amazing resource.

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      Writing your story could help you come to an accommodation with your loss. Writing is a powerful tool, helping connect our conscious mind with our unconscious, and perhaps bringing peace.

      Write for your self. Start at the beginning, at the first major change you experienced. You don’t have to write well to experience the fulfillment of writing.

      And you are so right — the story wheel is a perfect pattern of a life well lived.

      • Juliana Says:

        Pat, I wrote a letter to my brother-in-law yesterday. I explained to him exactly what I had witnessed when my husband died. It was a horrible way for anyone to go much less the person you love the most in the world. However, I wanted him (my brother-in-law) to understand exactly what happened. He had sent me an email that was all about my husband’s estate. I couldn’t respond because I can’t think about money. My brain keeps replaying what happened to Ken. I have PTSD, and whenever I think or talk about it, that dreadful scene comes screaming back to haunt me for days. People tell me that I should journal, but what would I say? When I write what happened down, it makes it come back as if it were happening all over again.

        • Pat Bertram Says:

          I don’t know if I wrote the story of what happened those last days. Mostly I wrote to him, telling him what was happening, explaining my feelings about his being gone, asking him if he were okay. I wish I could forget much of what happened during his dying, but all things considered, as horrifying as his death was, it wasn’t as bad as a lot of people had to deal with.


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,623 other followers

