Celebrating the End of the Creeping Darkness

I have always disliked the creeping darkness of fall, each day getting shorter, the nights getting longer, so I used to celebrate the day after the winter solstice — the end of the creeping darkness and the beginning of the brightening.

I didn’t much notice either the light or the dark during the past few years. All my days seemed dark, first with the long dying of my life mate/soul mate then with my grief after this death. But now that I am opening up to life again, opening up to a brighter time, it seems fitting that once again I should celebrate the end of the creeping darkness and the beginning of the brightening.

To that end, I have planted light. I wonder if it will grow.

S

Wishing you a brighter day and a new year filled with light!

***

Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.” Connect with Pat on Google+

8 Responses to “Celebrating the End of the Creeping Darkness”

  1. rami ungar the writer Says:

    Happy New Year, Pat. Hope it’s not too cold where you are.

  2. AnnNoE Says:

    Let there be light!

  3. ROD MARSDEN Says:

    Merry Christmas and Happy New year!

    As I write this I am sweating in front of my computer. High summer right now in the land of Oz! Winter is a long way off.

    Right now a couple of days at the beach is the way to go.

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      I tend to forget that things are different at the other side of the globe. So you are entering the time of the creeping darkness, so especially, I am wishing you a bright new year.

  4. leener814 Says:

    If you plant it, it will grow!


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,405 other followers

