Does One Have to be a Coffee Drinker to be a Writer?

I do author interviews on my Pat Bertram Introduces . . . blog, I have a constant feed of authors’ status updates in my Facebook feed, and I participate in several online discussion groups for writers. And always, one word seems to come to the fore: coffee. Coffee seems to be part of the writing ritual, and many authors claim to find inspiration in a cup of coffee. Hmmm. I don’t drink coffee. Am I missing a vital part of the writing process?

Here are some responses to the question of what writers drink while writing. The comments are taken from interviews posted at Pat Bertram Introduces . . .

From an interview with: J. Conrad Guest, author of Backstop and One Hot January

My morning sessions start with a pot of coffee and a trip to my humidor to select a cigar.

From an interview with: Coco Ihle, author of She Had to Know

I have a wonderful 16 oz. thermos mug that keeps my coffee hot, so I don’t have to get up so often for a refill. My right hand seems to be permanently crooked into the mug holding position.

From an interview with: P.I. Barrington, Author of Isadora DayStar

Coffee and Diet Coke are my working poisons. If I could get them both via an IV drip I would, lol!

From an interview with: John Paul Allen, Author of “Monkey Love”

Lots of coffee — two or three pots are a must.

From an interview with: Millicent Borges Accardi, Author of Injuring Eternity

I typically drink Peet’s coffee when I am writing or at my computer.

From an interview with: T. C. Isbell, Author of “Southern Cross”

Coffee, I drink vast mounts of coffee while I work.

From an interview with: Dr. Dorothy McCoy, Author of “The Manipulative Man”

I fix a cup of superb, fresh ground coffee (one should not skimp on coffee).

From an interview with: Jetta Stone, Author of “Silver Moon”

Chocolate and a cup of steaming strong brewed coffee.

From an interview with: Tom Rizzo, Author of “Last Stand At Bitter Creek”

Coffee. Is there any other?

From an interview with: Steven Hart, Author of “We All Fall Down”

Coffee. Oh yes — coffee.

See what I mean? Coffee. What about you? Do you have a favorite beverage that you drink while writing?

(If you’d like me to interview you, please check out my author questionnaire http://patbertram.wordpress.com/author-questionnaire/ and follow the instruction.)

***

Pat Bertram is the author of the conspiracy novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.” Connect with Pat on Google+

9 Responses to “Does One Have to be a Coffee Drinker to be a Writer?”

  1. Carrie Rubin Says:

    I am not a coffee drinker. I prefer tea or diet soda for my caffiene. Hope that doesn’t hinder my writing success… ;)

  2. sarahsolmonson Says:

    I love the smell of coffee. I hate the taste of it. Brings on an instant migraine. I’ll stick with McDonald’s coke and Rockstar lemonades!

  3. ROD MARSDEN Says:

    I will admit to being a coffee drinker. When broke I drink tea but I still continue to write. Either coffee or tea without the caffeine hit isn’t for me as a writer. Some people go for coke. I can’t stand the taste of the stuff unless its that Italian brand I have on hot days sometimes in summer.

  4. dellanioakes Says:

    I’m a coffee drinker, but not in massive amounts. I have, usually, 3 mugs a day – breakfast, mid afternoon and after dinner. I love my coffee, although I used to hate it and got my caffeine from tea or Coca-Cola. When the price of Coca-Cola went up & I could still get a cup of coffee for a dime in the theatre department office, I switched. Of course, it was minimal coffee to massive amounts of creamer & sugar. I don’t think you’re missing out, Pat. Your books are still awesome. It just takes you longer to type because you haven’t got the super charge of caffeine to make your fingers fly. ;)

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      Type? Who types? I write by hand. And then I type. Interestingly, I read an article today offered a couple of suggestions for increasing your brain power, and one was drinking coffee, and the other was writing by hand. In my case, they must cancel each other out.

  5. Joylene Butler Says:

    I must be weird. I don’t drink coffee. I start the day with hot chocolate in the winter, but the rest of the time it’s just plain water. Sometimes I add a squeeze of lemon to help clean out the pipes.

  6. bottledworder Says:

    Wow! All these writers consume so much coffee!!I drink tea. But that’s not the point.
    All writers drink coffee.
    Therefore all who drink coffee are great writers.
    Is that good logic? Because then I’ll switch to coffee.
    (Just kidding :). Great excerpts. Great post!)


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,622 other followers

