Visiting La-La Land

La-La Land is defined variously as:

  • Los Angeles
  • A place renowned for its frivolous activity
  • A state of mind characterized by unrealistic expectations or a lack of seriousness.
  • A euphoric dreamlike mental state detached from the harsher realities of life

Whatever La-La Land is, I took a trip there. The actual name of the place I visited was Venice Beach, but Venice is part of Greater Los Angeles, so it counts. There was definitely frivolous activity of all kinds, though I’m sure the guys at Muscle Beach and the various street artists and entreprenuers all thought they were involved in serious business. Others were like me, taking a vacation from the harsher realities of life.

These images show a completely unrealistic view of the area since the place was people-packed and smoggy. But still, I managed to get some lovely photos. So, come join me in a pictorial tour of a make-believe land far away.

La-La Land

Venice Beach Pier

Venice Beach as seen from the pier

Sail Away

Low tide

Surf shop

5 Responses to “Visiting La-La Land”

  1. rami ungar the writer Says:

    I’ve kind of felt like I’ve been in La-La Land myself today: my school’s team won its first game of the season, and my short story “Aasif” was published today. I’ve been on a perpetual high all day.

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      Congratulations! La-La Land is a great place to be today!

      • rami ungar the writer Says:

        thank you so very much! by the way, i’d be very happy if you checked out my story; i value your opinion, especially since you have more experience in writing than i do, and you’re good conversation.

        • Pat Bertram Says:

          I am sorry, but I learned a long time ago not to give my opinion on other people’s writings, and truly, you don’t want me to. I don’t like much of anything any more, so any comment I made would be skewed by my curmudgeonliness.

          • rami ungar the writer Says:

            i understand. it’s difficult to tell people good things when you don’t really like the things you’re talking about. you see that a lot in politicians; try as they might, they cannot say anything good about people from the other parties.


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,595 other followers

