I’ve Been Freshly Pressed and You Can Be, Too

On Monday, I got an email from WordPress:

Hi there Pat Bertram,

Congrats! We’ve picked your post ( http://ptbertram.wordpress.com/2012/08/13/a-perfect-grasp-of-storytelling/ ) to appear on Freshly Pressed on the WordPress home page.

We really enjoyed your well-written, sharp, and succinct take on perfect characters, unbalanced worlds, and good storytelling in general, and we know the rest of the WordPress community will too. Your post will appear on the site in the next day or two, so get ready to welcome your new readers.

Once your post goes live, shout it from the rooftops! Tell your family, friends, and readers to check out the WordPress home page, and share the good news with your social networks (we’ll do the same).

Most importantly, keep up the great work. To boost your blogging prowess even more, check out “So You Want To Be Freshly Pressed” ( http://en.support.wordpress.com/freshly-pressed/ ) for tips on everything from enhancing your theme to becoming a grammar guru, and visit The Daily Post ( http://dailypost.wordpress.com/ ) for pro tips, blogging challenges and more.

Thanks for making the internet a more interesting place!

***

The post appeared on Tuesday evening. This was the third time I’ve been Freshly Pressed. The other two articles that made the WordPress front page were I Am a Three-Month Grief Survivor and I Am a Six-Month Grief Survivor.

All three times, the honor came as a surprise, but the truth is, I had prepared for such an eventuality by following the guidelines in “So You Want To Be Freshly Pressed.” Until I read that article, I’d never used photos in my posts. I’d also over-tagged and over-categorized (though that doesn’t seem to be something they care so much about now). On the off chance that the WordPress editors would notice my little corner of the blogosphere, I cut down to no more than ten tags and categories combined, and I started adding an image to my posts. (That became an art in itself, taking the perfect photo to accompany my words.)

I’ve always aimed for typo-free text and eye-catching headlines, but I don’t always have a strong point of view. (I don’t much like contention.) Apparently, though, I’ve managed to strike the right chord with the WordPress editors three times, and you can, too. Just keep blogging. If you write it, they will come.

18 Responses to “I’ve Been Freshly Pressed and You Can Be, Too”

  1. Kathy Bertone Says:

    Thanks for sharing that, Pat. Although I just switched to Word press I, too, will attempt to be “pressed” now that I know there is hope! And that is how I found you so definitely a worthwhile pursuit!

  2. bornattwentyfive Says:

    Congrats on being freshly pressed!

  3. rami ungar the writer Says:

    Three?! You’re so lucky; I’m still trying to get my first. How long did you have to wait before your blog was Freshly Pressed?

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      I started blogging on September 24, 2007, and three years and three days later I was Freshly Pressed — I know why, too. That blog screamed out my grief at the loss of my life mate/soul mate, and the honesty is what caught people’s attention. Three months later, they pressed another grief blog. Not sure why this one caught their attention, except that it is a different point of view.

      • rami ungar the writer Says:

        jeez, it’s not easy to get Freshly Pressed, is it? Oh, and sorry for your loss.

        • Pat Bertram Says:

          Considering that there are more than a million new posts on WordPress every day, the odds of getting Freshly Pressed are not great. I truly don’t know why I got picked three times. I do know the process starts with well-written posts that add a different perspective, but after that, the main thing is good tags. Without good tags — not too general, not too limited — the editors will never find you. And neither will search engines.

  4. joylene Says:

    Wow, that is too kewl. Congrats, Pat.

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      It was very cool!! Now if it had only resulted in book sales . . .

      • Kathy Bertone Says:

        Had to laugh. Have gotten good press for my new book in national magazines and even USA Today Weekend this past weekend. Only hoping someone not only read the article, but then actually bought the book! Wow! Wouldn’t that be great! Hello? Anybody out there?!

  5. Rebecca Carney - One Woman's Perspective Says:

    Just catching up on my blog reading (my husband had been in the hospital twice in the last two weeks, so I missed this when it came out). Congratulations!!!

  6. Dawn Akemi Says:

    Yesterday, I was lucky enough to receive this same congratulations email. Like you, I’m not sure how I surfaced amongst so many. I read their “So You Wanna Be Freshly Pressed” after the fact, ironically, and I found your story by googling “freshly pressed”. Congratulations! May both our fortunes continue to be smiled upon! :-)

  7. Freshly Pressed and sites you’ll love | Project 365 Challenge in 2012 Says:

    […] #4 Pat Bertram says, “I’ve been freshly pressed and you can be too […]


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,643 other followers

