Was a Horoscope Ever More Wrong?

On a jaunt around the internet, I happened on my horoscope for 2012.

The year 2012 is going to be favorable for you. You will surprise your partner and add some spice to your relationship. Harmony will be there, but you will have to put in more effort on your life partner to keep him satisfied.

An explosion of emotions is most likely to happen in the second half of the year. Neither you nor your life partner will be ready to compromise. If the relationship is already dead, it is no use giving any advice. You will be more inclined to retreat and you will feel more comfortable with some distance between you and the outside world. It is your way of regaining your strength. Your partner might be surprised by your wish for solitude if you refuse to share certain moments with him — that’s why it is essential you talk to him to avoid any misunderstanding.

Well, they got one thing right — the relationship couldn’t be deader. It’s hard to add spice to a relationship when only one of the people in the relationship is still alive, or to satisfy someone who has been dead for two years. There isn’t much space for compromise between the living and the dead. Nor is there any need to avoid misunderstandings.

(I thought I could write an amusing rebuttal to this horoscope, but apparently I’ve run out of “amusing.” I don’t seem to have the knack of black humor, and I see nothing to laugh at when it comes to death. Perhaps death is too important not to joke about, but I can’t make light of it. Death devastates the living, and grief for sure is no joking matter.)

4 Responses to “Was a Horoscope Ever More Wrong?”

  1. Cathy "Elaine Garverick" Gingrich Says:

    Hi Pat,
    I am guilty of a “darque” sense of humus (ie decompose, rot, fester). I think my family, composed of mostly overly emotional, dysfunctional members, used it to cope in times of extreme hardship. Since I have gotten to know you through your website, I have witnessed your grief process which seems to me a method of communication with your beloved. How do we know this kind of process is strictly one-way? Maybe your love is helping you through this heartbreaking procedure and it’s just that you think it’s all on your side. And, another thing to give you pause, Pat…2012 is far from over.:-)
    XO Cathy

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      Cathy, I truly hope he has better things to do with his death than to watch over me. Actually, I have an ironic sense of humor, it’s just that I’ve seen too much of what death can do to the living to make light of the matter. It seems disrespectful.

  2. leesis Says:

    So where’s the light Pat?

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      What light, Leesa? In my life? Or in this post?

      In my life, I am moving away from my grief, mostly, I think, because the “lizard brain” is finally adapting. I’m still sad, still very lonely, but looking toward the future rather than back at the past. I’m keeping open, hoping to find something to be passionate about (I think I need that) but I have a hunch you don’t find passions, they find you. It’s the being open that counts. I’ve had a couple of insights lately that helped — I’m learning to accept the sadness and just go on from there; I realize now, as I did at the very beginning, that he needed to die since there was no way he could continue to live in his condition, and I figured out about the lizard brain’s role in all this. For me, understanding makes it easier to cope.


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,520 other followers

